Get started
Encyclopedias and other reference sources can provide background information, historical context, summaries and factual information around your topic. Don't forget to use bibliographies to identify additional sources.Encyclopedias
-
Brazil Today
by
Publication Date: 2011 -
Historical Dictionary of Angola
by
Publication Date: 2011 -
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Cape Verde
by
Publication Date: 2007 -
Historical Dictionary of Equatorial Guinea
by
Publication Date: 2000 -
Dicionário do Brasil colonial, 1500-1808
by
Call Number: Ref Stacks F2504 .D49 2000Publication Date: 2000
Country Profiles
-
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new windowThis is a reference resource produced by the CIA with almanac-style information about the countries of the world. The Factbook is available online and is partially updated every week. It provides a two- to three-page summary of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of 266 entities including U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and other areas in the world.
-
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Geographic, political, and economic information in narrative and statistical form on 192 individual countries. Provides GDP, growth, money, prices, unemployment, government, debt, trade, and balance of payments. Productivity data on five key sectors. Gives country rankings for trade, population, productivity, development and technology.
Online Encyclopedias
-
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new windowCoverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations. The archive is made up of more than 1.3 million pages of historical material across 33 archival collections from the United States and Europe. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more. Formerly known as World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
-
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical information on more than 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Online Directories
-
Latin America Virtual LibraryThis page is edited and maintained, by Dr. Wayne A.Selcher, Elizabethtown College
-
LANIC (University of Texas)Although no longer updated, this directory provides links to resources of interest. It's hosted by the University of Texas.
