Lusophone Studies

Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.

Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.

Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.

Provides full-text literary content for researching authors and their works, literary movements, and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews. Includes the Literature Resource Center and Scribner Writers.

Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Citations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.

This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.

Full text, comprehensive coverage of over 600 English language education journals, about 80 of which are not covered in ERIC. Also includes indexing and abstracts of monographs and yearbooks. Indexing is from 1983 to present; abstracts from 1994, and selected full text from 1996.

Provides full-text access to psychology-related journals published by the APA, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.

Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.

Covers a wide range of topics in art history, from advertising art, antiques, and archaeology to sculpture, television, and textiles. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Includes images from the Artstor collection, as well as other collections.

A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.

This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.

To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities."
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media.

Indexes articles from more than 600 social science and humanities journals. Includes works published throughout the world which relate to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Most articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, though some English language periodicals are indexed.

The Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales is the online publications portal of CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales) and related research centers throughout Latin America. Texts include books, congress papers, theses, documents and journals.