SEST 5734: AI and National Security

The Brookings Institution’s Artificial Intelligence and Emerging Technology (AIET) Initiative aims to advance good governance of transformative new technologies. Our independent and non-partisan research draws on scholars from all five research programs at Brookings to identify the governance models and best practices necessary for society to gain the benefits of A.I. and emerging technology while responsibly managing their risks.

Led by NSF, and in partnership with the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Institute of Food and Agriculture, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Google, Amazon, Intel and Accenture, the National AI Research Institutes will act as connections in a broader nationwide network to pursue transformational advances in a range of economic sectors, and science and engineering fields — from food system security to next-generation edge networks.

The One Hundred Year Study of Artificial Intelligence (AI100) is a longitudinal study to study and anticipate how the effects of artificial intelligence will ripple through every aspect of how people work, live and play. It is hosted by Stanford University and managed by a standing committee of AI experts from institutions around the world.

A unique and rich dataset from "MacroPolo" of researchers with papers accepted at NeurIPS 2019, using that as a proxy for the top-tier (approximately top 20%) of AI research talent.

The OECD.AI Policy Observatory combines resources from across the OECD and its partners from all stakeholder groups. It facilitates dialogue and provides multidisciplinary, evidence-based policy analysis and data on AI’s areas of impact.

The product of a major new Stanford education initiative, its clear explanation of pivotal tech domains, recent developments within them, and what to look out for in the future makes it an indispensable guide to tomorrow’s world.

This 2024 report, part of the Science and Engineering Indicators published by the National Science Board of the National Science Foundation, focuses on trends in output and international trade by KTI industries, including new analysis of global semiconductor production and the composition of U.S. KTI-related services.

The Nature Index is a database of author affiliations and institutional relationships. The index tracks contributions to research articles published in a group of high-quality natural science journals, chosen by an independent group of researchers.

The AI Index is an independent initiative at the Stanford Institute for Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (HAI). The annual report tracks, collates, distills, and visualizes data relating to artificial intelligence. The latest edition includes data from a broad set of academic, private, and nonprofit organizations as well as self-collected data and original analysis.

Dimensions covers millions of research publications connected by more than 1.6 billion citations, supporting grants, datasets, clinical trials, patents and policy documents.

Using a merged corpus of more than 260 million scientific documents, CSET clustered research based on citation links and mapped the clusters spatially using those linkages. The resulting Map provides a visual representation of the landscape of science, with detailed information on more than 123,000 clusters of research including 130 million scientific papers.

The AI Incident Database is dedicated to indexing the collective history of harms or near harms realized in the real world by the deployment of artificial intelligence systems.

AI Vulnerability Database (AVID) is an open-source knowledge base of failure modes for Artificial Intelligence (AI) models, datasets, and systems.

The independent, open, public interest resource detailing incidents and controversies driven by and relating to artificial intelligence, algorithms, and automation.

RAND Corporation is a nonprofit global policy think tank. It is currently financed by the U.S. government and private endowment, corporations including the healthcare industry, universities and private individuals.

The Endowment conducts programs of research, discussion, publication, and education in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy, including migration, nuclear non-proliferation, regional conflicts, multilateralism, democracy-building, and the use of force.

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy research organization based in Washington, DC.

ASPI’s new Critical Technology Tracker website (https://techtracker.aspi.org.au/) provides the public with a rich new dataset that allows users to track 44 technologies foundational for our economies, societies, national security, energy production, health and climate security.

The CSIS Wadhwani Center for AI and Advanced Technologies seeks to answer vitally important questions about the future of Artificial Intelligence.

CNAS’ Technology and National Security program explores the policy challenges associated with these and other emerging technologies. A key focus of the program is bringing together the technology and policy communities to better understand these challenges and together develop solutions.

Dentons Global Advisors and Albright Stonebridge Group outline the 10 emerging trends and challenges that will define the future of AI.

Epoch is a multidisciplinary research institute investigating the trajectory of Artificial Intelligence (AI). We scrutinize the driving forces behind AI and forecast its ramifications on the economy and society.

The Horizon 2045 Foresight Radar is an interactive tool for exploring pivotal issues and drivers of change shaping human and planetary security. It features a unique collection of over 500 signals of change and three divergent scenarios of the world in 2045.