Guides: SEST 5734: AI and National Security: Government and Polling Data

U.S. Government Data Resources

National Science Board Science and Engineering Indicators
Indicators provides information on the state of the U.S. science and engineering (S&E) enterprise over time and within a global context. The report is a policy-relevant, policy-neutral source of high-quality U.S. and international data. The indicators presented in the report are quantitative representations relevant to the scope, quality, and vitality of the S&E enterprise. The report is prepared by the National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) within NSF under the guidance of the Board.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor and collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data on topics such as inflation, wages and earnings, employment, and productivity.
Immigration and Citizenship Data
Dashboard of datasets from the US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) including information on visas like the H1-B.
CBO - Budget & Economic Data
The Congressional Budget Office analyzes the Presidential Budget from the Office of Budget and Management (OMB) and makes projections regarding the costs and economic impact of the budget.
Budget of the United States
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports This link opens in a new window
(Coverage 1916-Present): CRS serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature.
See also the Freely Available CRS Reports Database (2016-Present).

CRS report on Global R&D (Sept 2022)
National AI Initiative Office
Located in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), the National Artificial Intelligence Initiative Office (NAIIO) is legislated by the National Artificial Intelligence Initiative Act (DIVISION E, TITLE LI, SEC. 5102) to coordinate and support the National AI Initiative (NAII). The Director of the NAIIO is appointed by the Director of OSTP.

"USGS Updates Mineral Database with Graphite Deposits in the United States,” U.S. Geological Survey (USGS).

“Semiconductor Supply Chain Deep Dive Assessment,” U.S. Department of Energy, 24 February 2022, p. 14.

Public Opinion Polling Data

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations from the 1930's to the present.
Also included is access to the archives and publications of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, which contain over 17,000 datasets, JPOLL (Japanese Public Opinion), Japanese Data Library, Latin American Databank, and all issues of Public Perspective Magazine. Registration is necessary.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys. Includes polling from the U.S. and abroad.
Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Note: Access to datasets requires that you create a free account on the Pew website. "A nonpartisan 'fact tank' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
Includes seven projects: the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, the Project for Excellence in Journalism, the Pew Internet & American Life Project, the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, the Pew Hispanic Center, the Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends. Note that Pew datasets are released on varying schedules, with some embargoed or not released to the public to protect the privacy or confidentiality of respondents.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.