SFS & Government Librarian
Commodities, Trade, and Labor Data
- UNCTADstatUnilateral and bilateral country-level time series on international trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment (FDI), external financial resources, commodities and maritime transport.
- UNCTAD World Investment ReportThe World Investment Report focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development.
- The Atlas of Economic ComplexityThe Atlas of Economic Complexity is an award-winning data visualization tool that allows people to explore global trade flows across markets, track these dynamics over time and discover new growth opportunities for every country. Built at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, The Atlas is powered by Harvard’s Growth Lab’s research.
- FAOSTAT: FAO Statistical DatabasesStatistical databases of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Includes international statistics on agriculture, food production, trade, forest products, fisheries and more.
- ILOSTATStatistics on worldwide labor, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts.
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (Comtrade) This link opens in a new windowN.B.: GU only has access to the "free" version of Comtrade; we are not premium subscribers.
Annual compilation of trade statistics from over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country. The data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into U.S. dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. For many countries, the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year.
- UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) StatsCountry-level statistics on manufacturing and industry.
- OECD Data Explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
Tech Industry and Market Data
Please note that to date, artificial intelligence does not have a separate industry code. However, the NAICS Code ( The North American Industry Classification System) 541715 does include fields which use artificial intelligence in research and development.
NAICS Code 541715 – Research and Development in the Physical, Engineering, and Life Sciences (except Nanotechnology and Biotechnology) This U.S. industry comprises establishments primarily engaged in conducting research and experimental development (except nanotechnology and biotechnology research and experimental development) in the physical, engineering, and life sciences, such as agriculture, electronics, environmental, biology, botany, computers, chemistry, food, fisheries, forests, geology, health, mathematics, medicine, oceanography, pharmacy, physics, veterinary and other allied subjects.
- IDC This link opens in a new windowInternational Data Corporation (IDC) provides market intelligence, advisory services, and current commentary on the information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets. The IDC database contains market forecasts, industry analyses, case studies, vendor decision toolkits, and blog posts from over 1,000 IDC expert analysts. IDC’s scope is global in nature and features information on major multinational technology companies. IDC also offers decision making strategies for both technology suppliers and technology buyers.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowGeorgetown users must create a free account using their Georgetown email address. Once you have an account, you can access the database content.The source for financial data on major privately-held companies. From elusive private financials and revenues to private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, private and family ownership breakdowns, and more.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowformerly Global Market Information DatabaseGlobal in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
Tech Investments and IP Data
- WIPO IP StatisticsThe WIPO IP Statistics Data Center is an on-line service enabling access to WIPO’s statistical data on intellectual property (IP) activity worldwide. Users can select from a wide range of indicators and view or download the latest available as well as historical data according to their needs.
- International Property Rights IndexThe International Property Rights Index (IPRI) is the flagship publication of Property Rights Alliance. The IPRI scores the underlining institutions of a strong property rights regime: the legal and political environment, physical property rights, and intellectual property rights.
- OECD DigitalOECD Digital examines trends and analyses emerging opportunities and challenges in the digital economy. It highlights how OECD countries and partner economies are taking advantage of information and communication technologies (ICTs) and the Internet to meet their public policy objectives.
Semiconductor Industry
- State of the US Semiconductor IndustryReport by the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) on the successes and challenges facing the US semiconductor supply chain.
- Semiconductor Industry AssociationSIA is the voice of the semiconductor industry, one of America’s top export industries and a key driver of our economic strength, national security, and global competitiveness.
- The 2022 SIA FactbookThe 2022 SIA Factbook presents a clear picture of the trends in the U.S. semiconductor industry and global market using data. Factbook sections include data on the global industry and market, capital and R&D investment, jobs, and productivity. Data is updated through 2021, and most of the data is presented over a 20-year period, which provides a picture of long-term industry and market trends.
- World Semiconductor Trade Statistics (WSTS)WSTS' mission is to be the respected source of the semiconductor market data and forecasts. WSTS Inc. is a non-profit mutual benefit corporation whose Charter and Bylaws define services for the world semiconductor industry, including management of the collection and publication of trade net shipments and semiconductor industry forecasts.
China Investments
- AEI China Global Investment TrackerThe China Global Investment Tracker is the only comprehensive public data set covering China’s global investment and construction, which are documented both separately and together. It includes over 3800 large transactions across energy, transportation, metals, technology, property and other sectors (as well as 350 troubled transactions).
- Rhodium Group China ResearchRhodium has the most highly respected independent China research team in the private sector. For more than twenty years we have used a multidisciplinary approach to produce path-breaking analyses and insights on China. Rhodium builds and employs proprietary databases on China’s inbound and outbound direct investment, market opening and policy reform, and economic and business cycle activity.
