SFS & Government Librarian
Looking for a Specific Article?
To locate a specific article, go to the Hoya Search box at the Library's homepage and enter or copy in the article's title using quotation marks around the title. The article should be one of the top results. If you cannot locate it, you can contact your librarian or request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to be delivered virtually.
Core Article Databases
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
- ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowCollection of articles from over 180 social science journals. Disciplines covered include: anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, economics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, urban studies and more.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLimited to 4 simultaneous users.
An abstract of periodical articles on political science, government, international relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international journals. The printed version (1951-1997) is available. - International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new windowISCTRC combines scholarly journals with government documents, NGO policy papers, and a variety of "grey literature" sources to provide wide-ranging coverage of security, country risk, geopolitics, terrorism, and related topics.
- JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new windowBooks, journals and reports on cybersecurity, international law, military studies, intelligence and espionage, political violence and terrorism, and more. As with other JSTOR products, coverage goes back to the 1940s and continues up until the present day.
General Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Top Journal Titles
- Journal of Conflict ResolutionJournal of Conflict Resolution (JCR), peer-reviewed and published eight times a year, for more than fifty years has provided scholars and researchers with the latest studies and theories on the causes of and solutions to the full range of human conflict. JCR focuses on conflict between and within states, but also explores a variety of inter-group and interpersonal conflicts that may help in understanding problems of war and peace.
- Conflict Resolution QuarterlyConflict Resolution Quarterly is an official publication of the Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR). The journal is peer-reviewed and publishes quality scholarship on all aspects of conflict resolution and alternative dispute resolution.
- Journal of Peace ResearchJournal of Peace Research (JPR) is an interdisciplinary and international peer reviewed bimonthly journal of scholarly work in peace research. Journal of Peace Research strives for a global focus on conflict and peacemaking. The journal encourages a wide conception of peace, but focuses on the causes of violence and conflict resolution.
- Peace & Conflict: Journal of Peace PsychologyPeace and Conflict publishes scholarly manuscripts concerning peace, conflict, and their interaction at all levels of analysis, from interpersonal to community, regional, and international issues. The journal publishes empirical, theoretical, clinical, historical work, and book reviews on enduring and emerging issues that speak to the interests of researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and educators.
- International SecurityCore academic journal for the discipline since 1976. Project Muse provides access to the entire archive and the latest issues online.
