Guides: Companies: Private

Financial Data

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Georgetown users must create a free account using their Georgetown email address. Once you have an account, you can access the database content.
The source for financial data on major privately-held companies. From elusive private financials and revenues to private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, private and family ownership breakdowns, and more.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
To find what company a VC/PE fund invested in or who funds a new company, type in the name of the company or fund in the search box at the top.

Basic Information

Determing the company's size, location and type of business will help you determine what additional steps to take.

Yellowpages.com

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Press Releases

Most of these press releases will also be in trade magazines and on the company's website.

Company's Webpage

Look at the company's webpage. The landing page tends to be a marketing tool. Look at the bottom for an "About Us" or "Investor Relations" section. If you can't find one, you may be looking at a brand rather than a company. Click the "Privacy Statement" to find the direct parent.

If it takes more than 10 minutes to find what you're looking for, contact me or others in the library for help.

Local Newspapers

News about small, private, or subsidary companies is more likely to appear in local news sources than national ones.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

United States Newspapers
Links to over 3,300 United States Newspapers.

Companies

Related Guides

Regional Business News

Financial Data

Basic Information

Press Releases

Company's Webpage

Local Newspapers