Guides: WRIT 1150 (Danylevich): Writing &amp; Culture Seminar: Finding Comparables

5 Tips for Searching Google Effectively

Google's Advanced Search screen provides a number of ways to limit and refine your search. You can also use the following advanced search techniques in the basic Google search:

Use quotation marks to get exact wording: "health inequities"
Use a minus sign or hyphen to omit words from your search: vaccines -influenza
Use OR to add options: healthcare OR medical care
Use site: to limit to specific domains: health inequities site: twitter.com
Use site: plus a country code to search by geographic area: refugee site: FR

Higher Ed Publications

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides online searchable fulltext access to the latest issues of the Chronicle and archives back to 1989. Also includes daily news, advice columns, current job listings, and discussion forums.

Inside Higher Ed
A digital media company and online publication that provides news, opinion, resources, events and jobs focused on college and university topics.

Finding Magazine Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.