Guides: Population Studies: Data, Statistics & GIS

Searching for Data

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.

Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
Links to country statistical agencies around the world.

U.S. Data & Statistics

Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
Data.census.gov
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau, including the Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.

Population topics include aging, disability, education, gender, employment, origins and languages, poverty, race and ethnicity, relationships, transportation and veterans. Housing information includes physical and financial characteristics. The Economic Census includes statistics on business and industry, foreign trade and government.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Generously provided by the Georgetown Law Library.

May not work properly with Internet Explorer: IE 8 & 9 sometimes have security settings set too high. We recommend medium or low security settings. Follow the directions below to allow mixed content.

To allow mixed content:

Click to open Internet Explorer.
Click the Tools button, and then click Internet Options.
Click the Security tab, and then click the Custom Level button.
In the Security Settings dialog box, scroll to the Display mixed content setting in the Miscellaneous section, and then click Enable.
Click OK in the Security Settings dialog box, and then click OK to exit Internet Options.

Immigration Statistics (U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security)
Data on refugees, asylees, nonimmigrant admissions to the U.S., naturalizations, legal permanent residents, and unauthorized immigrant population. Includes working papers, reports, fact sheets, and other publications including the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.
StateMaster
Compiles data from various sources to compare U.S. state statistics graphically. Sources include the U.S. Census Bureau, the FBI and the National Center for Educational Statistics.
National Vital Statistics Report
Contains statistics on births, mortality, marriages, and divorces.

International Data & Statistics

Demographic Yearbook (U.N.)
Provides worldwide statistics on population, birth, mortality, marriage, and divorce. The web version has the latest edition and earlier years back to 1948.

African Statistical Yearbook
Compiled by the UN Economic Commission for Africa.

China Data Online
Statistical data at the national, provincial (31), county (over 2000), and city (over 700) level. The Website contains annual macroeconomic, industry, and socioeconomic data, with some monthly data. A few market research reports and trade data (in Chinese). Authorized by the Chinese National Bureau of Statistics. Georgetown only has access to the information under China Statistics and Statistical Yearbook (i.e. nothing under Census Data, Census Map & Report, Survey Data, etc.).
CountryWatch

Geographic, political, and economic information in narrative and statistical form on 192 individual countries. Provides GDP, growth, money, prices, unemployment, government, debt, trade, and balance of payments. Productivity data on five key sectors. Gives country rankings for trade, population, productivity, development and technology.
Eastview
See Online Databases of Russian/NIS Publications. Includes Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (also CDSP); CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences and Humanities; Russian/NIS Newswires; and Russian/NIS Statistical Publications.

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics -- World Bank
Data from sources such as the World Health Organization and UNICEF.
International Data Base - U.S. Census Bureau
The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public
Migration Policy Institute--Data Hub
Collection of migration statistics for many countries throughout the world. Includes data on net migration, asylum, citizenship, integration and other aspects of migration. Contains some historical data.
NationMaster
Compiles data from various sources to compare country statistics graphically. Sources include the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.

OECD Publications
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998.

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
Compiled by the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America, this work gives statistical information on the region and on individual countries. Covers population, industry, balance of payments, and social institutions.

UNdata
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
WDI Online

Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
World Development Reports

This key World Bank publication offers recent statistics and narrative on topics relating to developing countries.
1978-present available online; Latest print version is at the Reference Desk HC 59 .W6; earlier years (back to 1978) in stacks at HC 59. W6.

World Population Prospects
Data for population size and growth, fertility, mortality, and international migration presented for five year periods 1950-2050 with three fertility variants and one constant fertility scenario for 1990-2050.