Philosophy and Ethics

A searchable, growing virtual library of all the important works of Greek and Latin literature, digitized from the historic Loeb Classical Library. Over 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts include history, travel, philosophy, oratory, epic and lyric poetry, mathematics and medicine are included.

Provides the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States or in the British American colonies from 1639 through 1800. Find "Philosophy" under the subjects tab.

Provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the 19th century.

Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions.

Digital reproductions of every page of significant English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas and elsewhere. Searches the full text of books, pamphlets, essays, and other non-periodical materials including the complete works of major 18th-century writers.

In this database, every word of Goethe's literary and scientific works, his diaries, and his letters from the Weimar Edition is included, as are all illustrations, notes, variants, and indexes from the published volumes. Also included are Goethes Gespräche, edited by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann, Leipzig, 1889-96, and Goethes Werke, Nachträge zur Weimarer Ausgabe, edited by Paul Raabe, Munich, 1990.

Schillers Werke comprises the whole of the Nationalausgabe, the finest and most complete critical edition of his works, letters, and conversations. The critical apparatus includes notes on sources as well as on the genesis of the works and their subsequent influence on German literature.

A collection of writings from major authors in sociology, including Weber, Marx, Durkheim, Habermas, Parson, Foucault, Baudrillard, Martineau, Gilman and more.

Note: Users are required to create a (free) user profile before accessing the corpus.
The Thesaurus of the Greek Language Digital Library contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. The center continues its efforts to include all extant Greek texts from the Byzantine and post-Byzantine period.

Comprehensive dictionary of the Latin language; covers every author and work from the first items of Latin up to 600 AD. Dictionary articles allow the user to follow the development of meaning and usage in each word.