Medical Humanities

A collection visual images of healing and learning from the Art of Medicine section in the AMA Journal of Ethics.

A site that explores the interaction between the medium of comics and the discourse of healthcare.

A collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities.

Explore JAMA’s A Piece of My Mind essays, real-life stories from physicians about the joys and challenges of practicing medicine in the modern era.

A collection of first-person stories or poems, together with a visual image or haiku, about health care.

This group of objects features examples from this collection, found in the Division of Medicine and Science at the National Museum of American History. Each entry includes a photo of the object, the product’s name, maker’s name, place of manufacture, and a date range. Ingredients and therapeutic claims are included when indicated on the product packaging.

Offers important historical perspectives on the science and public policy of epidemiology today and contributes to the understanding of the global, social history, and public policy implications of diseases.

Guide to history of medicine repositories around the world.

Search across finding aids from special collections related to the history of medicine and its allied sciences.

Provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.

The MHL, a specialized research collection stored in the Internet Archive, currently includes nearly 60,000 digital rare books, serials, audio and video recordings, and ephemera in the history of medicine, public health, biomedical sciences, and popular medicine from the medical special collections of 22 academic, special, and public libraries.

Curated by the History of Medicine Division at the NLM. Collections include archives & modern manuscripts, films & videos, prints & photographs, rare books & journals, and digital collections.

Curated by the History of Medicine Division at the NLM. Collections include archives & modern manuscripts, films & videos, prints & photographs, rare books & journals, and digital collections.

An archive of syllabi from the Department of the History of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.

Find thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects related to health.

Located on the 1st floor of Healy Hall. The Bioethics Research Library is home to the world’s largest and most diverse collection of materials on the ethics of health, the environment, and emerging technologies.

The Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University helped to invent the field of bioethics, beginning a tradition of creative leadership in practical ethics that continues into the twenty-first century.

An educational organization whose purpose is to promote the exchange of ideas and foster multi-disciplinary, inter-disciplinary, and inter-professional scholarship, research, teaching, policy development, professional development, and collegiality among people engaged in all of the endeavors related to clinical and academic bioethics and the health-related humanities.

The leading journal in the field of bioethics, publishing original contributions that explore domestic and global ethical challenges in health care, medicine, public health, and the life sciences.

Dedicated to locally, nationally, and internationally recognized innovation and excellence in bioethics and medical humanities education, bioethics research and scholarship, bioethics consultation, and bioethics and medical humanities community service.

The Hastings Center addresses social and ethical issues in health care, science, and technology.

The only global forum for reflection in bioethics. A body of 36 independent experts that follows progress in the life sciences and its applications in order to ensure respect for human dignity and freedom.

An independent body that informs policy and public debate about the ethical questions raised by biological and medical research.

Founded on the principle that the practice of medicine involves academic disciplines beyond the pure and applied sciences. Good medical care and research require a deep understanding of the moral principles on which decisions are made.