Databases
- Greek into Arabic"... makes available the files of a lexical project, intended to open up the lexicon of the mediæval Arabic translations from the Greek. It contains images of the filecards (ca. 80,000) which have not yet been published in the analytical reference dictionary A Greek and Arabic Lexicon (Leiden: Brill, 1992ff.), and comprises Arabic roots from the letter jîm to the end of the Arabic alphabet...
Brockelmann OnlineBrockelmann Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes. It is full-text searchable. GAL offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period.
- Witkam's Introduction to Brockelmann's GALVery useful explanation of the GAL, including the history and organization of it.
Encyclopedias and Thesaurus
- Thesaurus d'Epigraphie IslamiqueMore than 30,000 inscriptions, with more than 10,000 photos of inscriptions.
The goal of the Thesaurus d'Epigraphie Islamique is to bring together
all of the inscriptions in Arabic, Persian and Turkish (as well as in other =
"small" languages) from the Muslim world up to the year 1000 of the Hegira.
The Thesaurus d'Epigraphie Islamique is a vital resource for historians, art historians and other specialists of the region.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI2) This link opens in a new windowThe major scholarly encyclopedia in Islamic & Middle Eastern studies, this is a multi-volume work containing signed articles on all aspects of the Islamic world: religious, biographical, historical, and social. Also in print at call number: LAU Ref Arabic and Islamic Studies DS37 .E523. Also available is EI3, containing a number of newer entries and updates: https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/EI3.
Encyclopaedia IranicaCall Number: LAU Pierce Reading Rm DS253 .E52 ALSO ONLINEISBN: 0710091109Publication Date: 1987-Dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.
ONLINE VERSION is more complete; have only vols. 1-16 in print
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ)Call Number: ONLINE & LAU Ref Stacks BP133 .E53 2001ISBN: 9004114653Almost 1,000 entries cover the concepts, personalities, place names, and cultural history of the Qur'an. Includes extended essays on the most important themes of Qur'anic studies. Print edition complete in 6 vols. Also available online at http://www.credoreference.com/book/brillquran.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldCall Number: ONLINE and LAU Ref Stacks BP40 .E525 2004Contextualizes modern Islam in the history of the religion and cultural milieu & discusses significant world events in and around the Muslim world. It includes information on Islam in the 21st century, supplementing the excellent coverage of earlier periods in the Encyclopedia of Islam (Brill) and other works.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Arab WorldISBN: 9004176780This work "covers an area of Jewish history, religion and culture which until now lacked its own cohesive/discrete reference work. The Encyclopedia fills the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods." Online edition only.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic CulturesISBN: 9004113800Examines in-depth the role and conditions of Islamic women in history, law, family, politics, sexuality, among other topics, by subject and by geographic region. Online edition continuously updated. See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how Arabic, etc. words are romanized. Also online at http://www.credoreference.com/book/brillewic.
The Qurʼan : an encyclopediaCall Number: LAU Ref Arabic and Islamic Studies BP133 .Q87 2006ISBN: 0415326397- Shi'apedia byPublication Date: 2012-in progress, articles published so far include a variety of issues on Shi'a Islam as well as biographies of important personalities
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE (EI3) This link opens in a new windowNewest edition of Ency. of Islam (still in progress). Edited by Gudrun Kramer, et al.
"with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship... The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."
