SFS & Government Librarian
International Human Rights Law
- Georgetown Human Rights Law Research GuideA comprehensive overview of national and international human rights law treaties, statutes, bodies, etc.
- International Criminal CourtEstablished by the Rome treaty, the ICC has a mandate to try individuals for genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and aggression.
- International Court of JusticeThe primary judicial body of the United Nations.
- Inter-American Court of Human RightsEstablished by the Organization of American States to apply the American Convention on Human Rights.
- European Court of Human RightsThis court rules on individual or State applications alleging violations of the civil and political rights set out in the European Convention on Human Rights.
- African Court on Human and People's RightsIntended to complement and reinforce the functions of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights.
- ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights (AICHR)NOT a court, but an "institution with overall responsibility for the promotion and protection of human rights in ASEAN."
International Human Rights Agencies
- Global Alliance of National Human Rights InstitutionsThe Global Alliance for National Human Rights Institutions (GANHRI) is the international association of national human rights institutions (NHRIs) from around the world. It is an official liaison between NHRIs and UN treaty bodies.
- US State Department Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and LaborThe Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor champions American values, including the rule of law and individual rights, that promote strong, stable, prosperous, and sovereign states.
- European Network of National Human Rights InstitutionsENNHRI brings together National Human Rights Institutions (NHRIs) across Europe to enhance the promotion and protection of human rights in the region.
- Equality and Human Rights Commission (UK)Promoting and upholding equality and human rights ideals and laws across England, Scotland and Wales.
- Canadian Human Rights CommissionThe Canadian Human Rights Commission is Canada's human rights watchdog, operating independently from the Government.
- Network of African National Human Rights InstitutionsNetwork of African National Human Rights Institutions.
- Asia Pacific Forum26 National Human Rights Institutions from all corners of the Asia Pacific.
- Asia Human Rights CommissionThe AHRC is "an independent, non-governmental body, which seeks to promote greater awareness and realisation of human rights in the Asian region."
Treaties and Agreements
- HeinOnline U.S. Treaties & Agreements Library This link opens in a new windowThis library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
- United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new windowContains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties. Languages are English and French, and the original language of the treaty.
- HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series and others. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.
International Government Resources
- UN ODS: Official Documents of the United Nations This link opens in a new windowODS has full text documents and covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Includes resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. For best results, use the Advanced Search option and enter a keyword, then click on 'Lexicon' to find the best match.
- UN Digital LibraryThrough the UN Digital Library, users can explore documents, votes, speeches, public domain publications and more.
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library (UN)The Dag Hammarskjöld Library provides research and information services to support the participation of Member States at the United Nations. Located at UN Headquarters in New York, the Library primarily serves delegates of Permanent Missions and UN Secretariat staff.
- European Union (EU) DocumentsAll public published material from the European Union Council including agendas, minutes, monographs, PDFs, brochures, and more.
- Organization of American States (OAS) DocumentsOnline portal of the most important documents of the Organization of American States (OAS), including its founding Charter along with other key reference material, such as annual reports of the Secretary General, OAS resolutions, agreements, and treaties.
- African Union ArchivesThe African Union (AU) Common Repository collects all official documents of the AU including, but not limited to, conferences working documents, reports, departmental reports, AU commissioned studies as well as correspondences.
- ASEAN Secretariat Resource CenterThe Library and Archives of The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN.
U.S. Government Resources
- GovInfo This link opens in a new windowGovInfo replaces the Federal Digital System (FDsys) and is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). It provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Congressional Record, Congressional bills, Congressional hearings and reports, and laws.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowOne of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowElectronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
