Guides: Human Rights: Data / Statistics

Human Rights Data

Human Rights Measurement Initiative
The Rights Tracker is created by the Human Rights Measurement Initiative (HRMI), the first global project to track the human rights performance of countries systematically.
Freedom House
Includes the reports: "Freedom in the World," "Nations in Transit," "Freedom of the Press," and "Countries at the Crossroads."
Human Rights Indicators from OHCHR
OHCHR has developed the Human Rights-Based Approach to Data (HRBAD), demonstrating how data can be produced following international human rights and statistical standards while putting people at the center.
AidData
AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance and foreign aid, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, and provide data in an accessible format.
Humanitarian Data Exchange
Designed as an open platform for organizations to share datasets related to humanitarian issues such as migrant deaths, conflict data, and health.
CIRI Human Rights Data Project
Dataset looks at government respect for 13 internationally recognized human rights. Coverage is from 1981-2011 across 202 countries.

International Data Resources

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.
OECD.Stat This link opens in a new window
OECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researchers Dataset This link opens in a new window
Composite rankings of variables related to political, financial, and economic risk in 140 countries. We have Tables 2B ("Four Key Risk Ratings") and 3B/3BA ("Political Risk Points by Component/Subcomponent"). Data through April 2019.

UN Data
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
more...less...
The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added.
Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.
World Development Indicators (WDI) from World Bank
WDI includes demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, 1960-present.

Global Development Data Sources

World Development Indicators (WDI) from World Bank
WDI includes demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, 1960-present.
Human Development Index
An index from the UNDP (UN Development Programme), using three parameters to measure human development and quality of life: wealth, health and education.
Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) Data
The Open SDG Data Hub promotes the exploration, analysis, and use of authoritative SDG data sources for evidence-based decision-making and advocacy. Its goal is to enable data providers, managers and users to discover, understand, and communicate patterns and interrelationships in the wealth of SDG data and statistics that are now available.