Librarian
Off Campus Access to Library Resources
You will be able to access most library resources from wherever you are by logging in with your GU NetID and password. Follow the instructions on the Off Campus Access page for details. The library subscribes to resources so that you won't need to pay for them. Please Ask Us if you have questions.
Library Session Outline
Information for the library instruction sessions for GERM 2500, Spring 2024.
Research Notes worksheet
From Topic to Search
1. What is your research question?
-
Phrase your topic as a question.
-
Make your question specific.
-
Example: How does the portrayal of the evil stepmother in Disney's Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs work as a symbol of female power?
2. Find background information about or context for your research question.
-
Encyclopedias: Credo Reference
3. Decide on a keyword strategy for searching.
-
List nouns, synonyms or related terms, and phrases that describe your topic
-
Example terms list: stepmothers, mother - daughter relationships, fairy tales, symbolism, feminitiy
-
Example search: (fairly tales or folk tales) and stepmothers and feminity
-
More terms = more specific, fewer results
-
Fewer terms = more general, more results
-
4. Find books and articles.
-
Search HoyaSearch for ebooks. (Example: Lewd Women and Wicked Witches)
-
Check the bibliographies of sources you find to expand your collection of sources.
-
Search Historical Abstracts, MLA Bibliography, JSTOR, or Project Muse for articles.
-
Tools & tips for using library resources when away from campus.
5. At any stage, Ask Us or make a Research Consultation appointment.
Background Information & Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Citation and Organization
Organizing your work will help your writing process and help you create a successful research project.
- How much time do you have? Use this Assignment Calcuator to stay on track to complete your project on time.
- What style manual do you need to follow? Check with your instructor. Common citation styles are APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago. Quick explanations are on the Citations Tools page.
- How will you save your citations? Use the "cite" feature available in several databases, such as JSTOR, to capture the citation information. Be sure to copy the stable URL.
