Guides: Emergency and Disaster Management: Articles, Reports, & Multimedia

Find Articles

These are the best databases to search for articles in Emergency & Disaster Management Studies.

Academic Search Premier
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Emerald Intelligence + Fulltext
This source has over 130 full-text journals published by MCB University Press. Subjects include: general management, human resources, information management, library & information services, marketing, property, engineering, quality, training & education, operations, production & economics. Most of the journals have an international perspective.
ScienceDirect

Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Wiley Online Library

Note: Access to all content on this platform is incomplete. Please reference HoyaSearch or the Journal Finder for the library's complete holdings.
Portal to Wiley's scientific, technical, medical and professional journals.
JSTOR
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
ABI/Inform Complete
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
HeinOnline
One of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.

Titles digitized include the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, bills and public laws in the Statutes at Large, the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, selected legislative histories, Supreme Court documents, Presidential documents, and more. Search the Sources of Compiled Legislative History database by Public Law or Bill number, from the 37th to the 107th Congress. The U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection has full text legislative histories on significant legislation in banking, civil rights, labor, digital rights, the USA PATRIOT act, and other selected laws.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
Jane's News Centre
To access, enter your Georgetown email in the login box. You will be taken to the standard Georgetown NetID login screen to complete authentication.
News and analysis on state and international security, terrorism and insurgency, proliferation, resource security, and organized crime. Includes articles from Jane's publications Country Risk Daily Report, Intelligence Weekly, Terrorism and Insurgency Monitor, Intelligence Review, and more.

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Below is a list of acceptable peer-reviewed journals in the interdisciplinary field of Emergency and Disaster Management. By selecting the journal title, you will be redirected to the research database (access provided by the Georgetown University Library System) that provides access to the respective journal title.

Disasters

Disaster Prevention and Management

Environmental Management

International Journal of Disaster Resilience in the Built Environment

International Journal of Disaster Risk Reduction

International Journal of Disaster Risk Science

Journal of Business Continuity & Emergency Planning

Journal of Hazardous Materials

Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Natural Hazards

Natural Hazards Review

Risk, Hazards, & Crisis in Public Policy

Studies in Conflict and Terrorism

Multimedia Resources

Environmental Issues Online
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. This mixed media collection spans over 173 hours of video and 132,000 pages of digital material.

The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.
Security Issues Online
Security Studies Online is organized around major themes related to security, including terrorism and counter-terrorism, conflicts and resolution, nuclear threats and weapons, and transnational organized crime. Historical background is offered on key worldwide events, such as the U-2 incident (1960), the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan (1979), and the 9/11 terrorist attacks (2001). Featured in the collection are video, images, and scholarly text, including works published by Cambridge University Press and Cornell University Press.

The collection provides primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Iran (1940s to the Present), 1960 U-2 Incident, World War II and Intelligence, Cold War: The Bay of Pigs and the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1961-1962, and more.

Emergency and Disaster Management

Find Articles

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Multimedia Resources

Can't Find It?