Guides: Public Policy: Think Tanks

Using Think Tank Research

For advice on using think tank reports in your research, see this tip sheet.

Selected Think Tanks

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.

Find Policy
Find policy was created by Transparify. TIP: Scroll past the sponsored results on the search results page!

Centrist or nonpartisan

Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations to: Strengthen American democracy; Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.
The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
The Endowment conducts programs of research, discussion, publication, and education in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy, including migration, nuclear non-proliferation, regional conflicts, multilateralism, democracy-building, and the use of force.
National Bureau of Economic Research
Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their full-text archive of working papers covers 1973-present.

Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Note: Access to datasets requires that you create a free account on the Pew website. "A nonpartisan 'fact tank' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
Includes seven projects: the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, the Project for Excellence in Journalism, the Pew Internet & American Life Project, the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, the Pew Hispanic Center, the Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends. Note that Pew datasets are released on varying schedules, with some embargoed or not released to the public to protect the privacy or confidentiality of respondents.

RAND Corporation
RAND Corporation (Research ANd Development) is a nonprofit global policy think tank. It is currently financed by the U.S. government and private endowment, corporations including the healthcare industry, universities and private individuals. RAND aims for interdisciplinary and quantitative problem solving via translating theoretical concepts from formal economics and the physical sciences into novel applications in other areas; that is, via applied science and operations research.

Liberal Leaning

Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is an independent nonpartisan educational institute dedicated to improving the lives of Americans through progressive ideas and action. Building on the achievements of progressive pioneers such as Teddy Roosevelt and Martin Luther King, CAP addresses 21st-century challenges such as energy, national security, economic growth and opportunity, immigration, education, and health care.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is one of the nation’s premier policy organizations working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
more...less...
Areas of interest include:
Budget — Federal
Congressional Action
Deficits and Projections
President's Budget
Process

Climate Change

Food Assistance
Child Nutrition and WIC
Food Stamps

Health
Children’s Health Insurance Program
Citizenship Documentation
Health Reform
Insurance Coverage
Medicaid
Medicare
Tax Proposals and HSAs

Housing
Budget
Other Issues
Practitioners' Corner
Public Housing
Vouchers

Poverty and Income
Asset Tests
Minimum Wage
Trends

Recession and Recovery
Special Series: Economic Recovery Watch
Stimulus Principles
Stimulus Proposals
Unemployment

Simplifying Programs

Social Security
Accomplishments
Financial Status
Reform Proposals

State Budget and Tax
Budgets
Federal-State Issues
States in the Recession
Tax and Spending Limits
Taxes

Tax — Federal
2001/2003 Tax Cuts
Alternative Minimum Tax
Businesses
Earned Income Tax Credit
Estate Tax
Individuals and Families
Other Issues
Taxes and the Economy

Welfare Reform/TANF
Federal Policies
State Policies
Trends
Economic Policy Institute
An American think tank based in Washington, D.C. that carries out economic research and analyzes the economic impact of policies and proposals. The EPI describes itself as a non-partisan think tank that "seeks to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions". It is affiliated with the labor movement, and is usually described as presenting a liberal viewpoint on public policy issues.
more...less...
The EPI advocates for policies favorable for low- to moderate-income families in the United States. The EPI also assesses current economic policies and proposes new policies that EPI believes will protect and improve the living standards of working families.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe. Its staff consists of human rights professionals including country experts, lawyers, journalists, and academics of diverse backgrounds and nationalities.
Bias allegations include undue influence by United States government policy.
The Inter-American Dialogue
The Inter-American Dialogue is a U.S. based center for policy analysis, exchange, and communication on issues in Western Hemisphere affairs. The Dialogue brings together public and private leaders from across the Americas to address hemispheric problems and opportunities.

Conservative leaning

American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
AEI is a private, nonpartisan, not-for-profit institution dedicated to research and education on issues of government, politics, economics, and social welfare. Founded in 1943, AEI is home to some of America's most accomplished public policy experts--from economics, law, political science, defense and foreign policy studies, ethics, theology, health care, and other fields. The Institute sponsors research and conferences and publishes books, monographs, and periodicals.
Cato Institute
An American libertarian think tank headquartered in Washington, D.C. It was founded as the Charles Koch Foundation in 1974 by Ed Crane, Murray Rothbard, and Charles Koch, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the conglomerate Koch Industries. In July 1976, the name was changed to the Cato Institute. Cato was established to have a focus on public advocacy, media exposure and societal influence.
Heritage Foundation
Founded in 1973, The Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institution—a think tank—whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.
Hoover Institution
The Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace, Stanford University, is a public policy research center devoted to advanced study of politics, economics, and political economy—both domestic and foreign—as well as international affairs. With its world-renowned group of scholars and ongoing programs of policy-oriented research, the Hoover Institution puts its accumulated knowledge to work as a prominent contributor to the world marketplace of ideas defining a free society.
Hudson Institute
An American conservative non-profit think tank based in Washington, D.C. The Institute is committed to innovative research and analysis that promotes "global security, prosperity and freedom." It promotes public policy change in accordance with its stated belief that "America’s unique and central role in the global system offers the best foundation for security, the defense of liberty, and assuring economic growth."