Major Science Databases

A multidisciplinary database composed of Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. Performs two different functions: 1) Start with a known article and use the Cited Reference Search tab to find other articles that cite it. 2) Use the Search tab to search for articles by topic or author. TIP: To bring the articles most relevant to the topic to the top of the results list for a subject search, change the Sort By option to Relevance. TIP: The Help pages (top right tab) are excellent.

Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

1985 to 2011/2013 only, does not include current abstracts.
Covers the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research.

JSTOR provides the full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields, including the life sciences. NOTE: From the Advanced Search screen, scroll down to NARROW BY DISCIPLINE and select Environmental Science; Ecology & Evolutionary Biology; Biological Sciences and more. NOTE: Journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years. For more recent articles, use one of the other indexes listed in this section.

A database that encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Also includes PreMEDLINE, a database of citations that have not yet been fully indexed for entry into MEDLINE.

Georgetown's subscription is to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Cell Biology, Human Genetics, Immunology, Molecular Biology, and Neuroscience.

Need to renew your ChemDraw Professional license? Follow these instructions.
Molecule editor and chemical structure drawing tool for chemists and biologists. Allows you to draw and submit chemical compound and reaction searches direct to SciFinder. Offers an extensive set of biological templates and drawing objects to create illustrations of cells and pathways. Georgetown’s site license allows all current Georgetown students, faculty, and staff to download the program for free to their home, office, or personal computer. After installation, no Internet connection is required for use. Requires a free Revvity Signals account to download. Follow the instructions to create a free account with Revvity Signals (or log in with your existing account), then download the software.