Major Science Databases

Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.

Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Provides access to journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly LexisNexis Environmental and ProQuest Environment Abstracts.

A multidisciplinary database composed of Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. Performs two different functions: 1) Start with a known article and use the Cited Reference Search tab to find other articles that cite it. 2) Use the Search tab to search for articles by topic or author. TIP: To bring the articles most relevant to the topic to the top of the results list for a subject search, change the Sort By option to Relevance. TIP: The Help pages (top right tab) are excellent.

Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.

JSTOR provides the full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields, including the life sciences. NOTE: From the Advanced Search screen, scroll down to NARROW BY DISCIPLINE and select Environmental Science; Ecology & Evolutionary Biology; Biological Sciences and more. NOTE: Journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years. For more recent articles, use one of the other indexes listed in this section.

Indexes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials dating from the 16th century to the present. Covers agriculture, food science, human nutrition, life sciences, and natural resources.

Database of chemical structures, their associated chemical and physical properties, reaction and synthesis information, and bibliographic data. Covers organic chemistry, organometallic and inorganic chemistry, and the chemistry from relevant patents. Merges the content from three major chemistry data sources (Beilstein, Gmelin, and patent chemistry databases). Can be searched by reaction, substance/structure, property, and citation.

NOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. Additional login information is available directly from the CAS as a PDF.
Like its online predecessor, SciFinder (and its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts), SciFinderⁿ is a core chemistry research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. Two new elements make SciFinderⁿ particularly valuable:

- PatentPak—helps scientists evaluate the relevance of patents by making it easy to navigate quickly to specific substances referenced in the text of a patent
- MethodsNow—enables immediate access to millions of synthetic protocols (i.e., step-by-step synthetic methods)

With its additional functionality, SciFinderⁿ provides information and data faster and more comprehensively than SciFinder did, widening the search landscape and possibly increasing research productivity and impact.

Need to renew your ChemDraw Professional license? Follow these instructions.
Molecule editor and chemical structure drawing tool for chemists and biologists. Allows you to draw and submit chemical compound and reaction searches direct to SciFinder. Offers an extensive set of biological templates and drawing objects to create illustrations of cells and pathways. Georgetown’s site license allows all current Georgetown students, faculty, and staff to download the program for free to their home, office, or personal computer. After installation, no Internet connection is required for use. Requires a free Revvity Signals account to download. Follow the instructions to create a free account with Revvity Signals (or log in with your existing account), then download the software.

A multidisciplinary database composed of Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. Performs two different functions: 1) Start with a known article and use the Cited Reference Search tab to find other articles that cite it. 2) Use the Search tab to search for articles by topic or author. TIP: To bring the articles most relevant to the topic to the top of the results list for a subject search, change the Sort By option to Relevance. TIP: The Help pages (top right tab) are excellent.

An archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance.

A multidisciplinary database composed of Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. Performs two different functions: 1) Start with a known article and use the Cited Reference Search tab to find other articles that cite it. 2) Use the Search tab to search for articles by topic or author. TIP: To bring the articles most relevant to the topic to the top of the results list for a subject search, change the Sort By option to Relevance. TIP: The Help pages (top right tab) are excellent.

Online access to articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and blogs published by American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publishing and its partners. Hosts Physics Today, AIP’s flagship magazine. Articles are tagged with controlled subject terms, allowing easy discovery of related content. Offers article-level metrics to measure article impact over time.

AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). Our portfolio comprises highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals, including a growing portfolio of Open Access titles, that cover all areas of the physical sciences. The research published in these titles paves the way for new fields of study, gives rise to new techniques, and provides inspiration to contemporary researchers.

Note: Access to all content on this platform is incomplete. Please reference HoyaSearch or the Journal Finder for the library's complete holdings.
Electronic editions of Institute of Physics journals.

The journals of the American Physical Society: Physical Review (all sections), Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

Full-text archive of the American Physical Society scholarly journals. Contains all APS journal articles published from 1893 to four years ago. Each January another year is added to the archive.

Searchable database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. The electronic version of Mathematical Reviews (1940- ), MathSciNet uses the Mathematics Subject Classification to categorize materials by subject.

Comprehensive and longest running (1826- ) abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics (natural sciences, computer science, economics, engineering, history and philosophy of math, university math education). Similar to MathSciNet, it uses the Mathematics Subject Classification. To search exhaustively for a particular math topic, search both zbMATH and MathSciNet.

A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.

Note: Access to all content on this platform is incomplete. Please reference HoyaSearch or the Journal Finder for the library's complete holdings.
Full-text of the journals: Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Electronic Research Announcements, Journal of the American Mathematical Society, Mathematics of Computation, Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society, Representation Theory, Transactions of the American Mathematical Society. MathSciNet is partnering with the AMS journals program providing links to article reviews when they become available.

Electronic edition of Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) journals. Published on an accelerated article-by-article basis. They are the definitive editions for SIAM journals. Electronic articles in SIAM's nine research journals are now published in final form months, and in some cases years, in advance of their print counterparts.