A searchable database of more than 620,000 nonprofit organizations in the United States. You will have to register to verify a nonprofit's legitimacy, learn whether a contribution will be tax deductible, or view a nonprofit's recent Forms 990.
Covers information on domestic and international philanthropy and the nonprofit sector by identifying, indexing, and abstracting relevant books, articles, and non-print resources. From the Foundation Center.
Includes topics such as fundraising, proposal development, and revenue-generating activities. Also includes works related to charitable giving, including project reports, studies, and statistical analyses. Literature on all aspects of company-sponsored foundations and corporate giving is included, as are materials related to the nonprofit sector, its composition, administration, management, and voluntarism. Also covers publications that discuss the impact of government policies and funding upon the sector and the legal and tax implications of local, state, and federal regulation and legislation.
Candid's Foundation Directory Online is a tool for finding potential funding sources for scholarships and non-profit projects. It is the foremost resource for finding information on philanthropic organizations, grants received, and organizations that receive them. Also available are the organization's IRS 990: Financial statements in the non-profit world. To learn how to use the databases use their YouTube tutorials or contact the Library.
The National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) is in the process of designing a new open data platform which will provide a community for nonprofit practitioners, researchers, and policy-makers to download, create, explore, and share data themselves.
The Chronicle provides news and information for executives of tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields, as well as fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, institutional investors, corporate grant makers, and charity donors. Along with news, it offers such service features as lists of grants, fundraising ideas and techniques, statistics, reports on tax and court rulings, summaries of books, and a calendar of events.
A nonprofit organization providing a rating system which examines two broad areas of a charity's performance: financial health and accountability & transparency. Ratings show givers how efficiently a charity will use their support, how well it has sustained its programs and services over time and their level of commitment to good governance, best practices and openness with information.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite: Congress and the Nation (from 1945), Historic Documents Series (from 1972), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Washington Information Directory, Supreme Court Yearbook (from 1989) and Vital Statistics on American Politics.
CQ Researcher: Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.
CQ Weekly: Provides political and legislative news, features, trends, forecasts and congressional voting records.
formerly Thomas.govThis resource from the Library of Congress allows users to search for: Bills, Resolutions; Activity in Congress; Congressional Record; Schedules, Calendars; Committee Information; Presidential Nominations; and Treaties, some beginning with the 93rd Congress (1973) - present. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.
Coverage dates for legislative information in Congress.gov are available here.
USA Spending records all types of financial assistance awards made by Federal agencies to all types of recipients during the indicated quarter.
Each transaction record identifies, by the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) program code number and name, the type and amount of financial assistance, the type and location of the recipient and the geographic place of performance.
SBA.gov lets you search across federal, state and local government sites, and retrieve information on programs, services and resources that help you start, grow and manage your small business. You no longer need to visit multiple government websites to find information you need.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy