Multi-disciplinary Journal Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for publications in the social sciences and the humanities. User-friendly interface.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowNote: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. - Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowIn addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
Key Databases on History, Politics, and Religion
- America History and LifeOne of the core resources for research in American history, AHL includes citations (and some full text) for hundreds of articles dealing with the role of media in shaping and documenting history.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles; link to full text when available. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowIndexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology.
- ProQuest Religion Database This link opens in a new windowSearches 90+ journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.
Who cited this author or article?
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowIn addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references - the footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowSame citation searches as above, but covers the social sciences. Select the desired Citation Database on the lower part of the search screen.
Get Answers
