It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Department of Labor (DOL) administers and enforces more than 180 federal laws. This is a brief description of many of DOL's principal statutes most commonly applicable to businesses, job seekers, workers, retirees, contractors and grantees. This brief summary is intended to acquaint you with the major labor laws and not to offer a detailed exposition.
"The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information."
The National Conference of State Legislatures tracks state unemployment legislation from the current legislative session is available in a searchable database. You may search all unemployment-related bills or select specific topics.
This site provides comprehensive state, federal, and international HR and tax information, as well as relevant legal commentary and explanations for many industries. NOTE: Georgetown users must create an account while on campus, using their Georgetown email address. Once you have an account, you can access the database off campus. Provided by the generous support of the Georgetown Law Library.
Industries include advertising; antitrust & trade; banking; bankruptcy; benefits; commodities & derivatives; computer & internet; construction; consumer financial services; corporate governance; corporation & business organizations; energy & natural resources; environmental compliance; exchanges & SROs; estate planning; food, drugs, & devices; franchising & distribution; fringe benefits; government contracts; health care compliance; human resources; insurance, intellectual property; international securities; investment management; labor and employment; mergers & acquisitions; payroll; pension; privacy; products liability & safety; safety/OSHA; secured transactions; securities; transportation; UK financial services; and unemployment/social security.
One of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.
Titles digitized include the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, bills and public laws in the Statutes at Large, the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, selected legislative histories, Supreme Court documents, Presidential documents, and more. Search the Sources of Compiled Legislative History database by Public Law or Bill number, from the 37th to the 107th Congress. The U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection has full text legislative histories on significant legislation in banking, civil rights, labor, digital rights, the USA PATRIOT act, and other selected laws.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Immigration Law, specifically the enforcement of this law, changed dramatically after the attacks of September 11th and the subsequent passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, which created the Department of Homeland Security.