Guides: English Language Center: Scholarly Articles

HoyaSearch: Find Journals

Articles in Many Subjects

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 full-text journals in education, with citations to over 6 million articles, covering early childhood to higher education and everything in between.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)

Tips for Finding Articles

WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION

To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder.

If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan.

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD

To find articles on a particular topic, search by keyword in an article database. The library's Articles & Databases page lists them by subject and by title.
Your search results will list citations to articles or link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.