Your Librarian
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
Get Answers
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
What Is a Database?
The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, abstracts, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles. They will contain or link to the full text of the articles if available at Georgetown or a link to our Interlibrary Loan Services through which you can get a link to the PDF sent to your email - usually in 24 hours or less.
TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results. If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors. They often suggest other good words to use in your search. Also look for "Similar Articles" or "Related Articles" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).
For Advanced Searching - Many databases offer advanced search features that allow for more powerful directed searching. These enable you to use special fields and limiters such as Document type, Population or Age Group for a study, Chemical Substance used.
If you are doing advanced research, consult the librarian for your field, to find out how to make the best use of these powerful databases.
Databases for finding Articles in Biochemistry
- SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowNOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. Additional login information is available directly from the CAS as a PDF.
SciFinderⁿ is a core chemistry/biochemistry research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a index to the top scholarly literature in all subject areas. It has strong coverage in Biochemistry. In addition to indexing articles by keyword and topic, it allows you to take a known, relevant paper and find other paper related to it.
You can find more recent papers that cite the known paper, as well as find articles related to it through shared citations. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowFree (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. Pubmed indexes literature in the biological, medical, and allied health sciences, including biochemistry.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of scholarly journal articles published by Elsevier. Coverage is mainly in science and medicine, including Biochemistry.
The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
- All Biology Databases @ GeorgetownSee a list of links to all the databases at Georgetown that have significant coverage for Biochemistry
- All Chemistry DatabasesSee a list of links to all the databases at Georgetown that have significant coverage for Chemistry
- To Browse the A to Z Database ListIdentifies an A to Z list of all research database subscriptions provided by the University Library System. Use the "Subject", "Database Types", or "Vendor" dropdown menus to narrow your search.
Interdisciplinary databases - Biochemistry in other disciplines
Biochemistry & Art ~ These databases include articles on things like Art as therapy, the relationship between Artistic work and brain chemistry, and the biochemistry of artistic materials.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years.
Biochemistry & Business - Information from trade and business sources on the Biochemical and Pharmaceutical industries
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Biochemistry & Music
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCovers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular music periodicals from over 20 countries. Indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in New York Times and Washington Post. Records from 1996 forward contain abstracts.
Biochemistry & Psychology
- PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Multidisciplinary Databases that include the Sciences
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 100 journals and magazines back to 1995, with citations back to 1984. Covers all science-related topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
