Librarian
HoyaSearch
Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch!
Search WorldCat
Find Articles
These are the best databases to search for articles on African American studies.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center contains both primary sources and scholarly research on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself, including: the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals [IIBP]), the full text of the Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field, over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 150 maps, 150 charts and tables, and over 6,000 biographies.
More Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 250 alternative, radical and left leaning journals, newspapers and magazines from the U.S. and abroad. Topics covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation and socialism.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowPublications focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas and include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization and special reports. The database provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are central to women's lives as well as topics on the impact of gender and gender roles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new windowIndexes book reviews and articles from English-language periodicals, including scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields (including sciences into the 1950s), represented in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. For articles published after 1984, use Humanities Full Text.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
