Skip to main content
Important Government Resources
Search.USA.gov is the U.S. government’s official search engine. It is a comprehensive, searchable index of about 50 million pages from federal, state, local, territorial, and tribal websites.
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
FDsys is a project of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) to provide electronic, digital access to government information. The collection includes the Budget of the U.S. Government; the Compilation of Presidential Documents; Congressional bills, calendars, committee prints, documents, hearings, and reports; the Congressional Record; Economic Indicators; the Federal Register; the List of CFR Sections Affected; and Public and Private Laws. Coverage begins in 1993.
Government & Legal Resources
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
The library has purchased the microfilm series CIA Research Reports, 1946-76 for all geographic areas of the world. This set is located inGovernment Documents and Microforms. A limited number of declassified documents from the agency reprinted as monographs may be searched using GEORGE by corporate author “United States. Central Intelligence Agency.” and then limiting the results by format “Books” and location “Stacks.”
CIA's Center for the Study of Intelligence
The CIA's Center for the Study of Intelligence publishes the journal Studies in Intelligence ; issues from 1992-present, with unclassified articles, are available online. The Library page has links to full-text books and monographs published by CSI.
CSI Studies Archive Index
Electronic archive of articles and indexes on the profession of intelligence. The articles are taken from CIA’s 50-year old professional journal, Studies in Intelligence, and from a new series of papers produced by the Sherman Kent School of Intelligence Analysis entitled Kent Center Occasional Papers. The archive includes over 600 of the unclassified and declassified articles that have been published in Studies and nine Occasional Papers.
Freedom of Information Act Guide
The "Justice Department Guide to the Freedom of Information Act" is an overview discussion of the FOIA's exemptions, its law enforcement record exclusions, and its most important procedural aspects. Prepared by the attorney and law clerk staff of the Office of Information and Privacy, it is updated and revised biennially.
National Security Agency - Declassification Initiatives
NSA/CSS periodically releases declassified documents or indexes to these documents to the public. The documents listed on this page were located in response to numerous requests received by NSA on the various subjects stated and for which there appears to be a general public interest.
National Archives and Records Administration
The site contains documents and information routinely available to the public as well as those released under FOIA.
Public Policy and Data Librarian