Need Help?
Georgetown Databases
The resources on this list are only available off-campus to Georgetown-affiliates. Patrons may also access this information at a public computer in the library.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries. Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile format or ASCII text.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowThis resource may contain content still classified by the United States Government. Individuals holding security clearances use at their own risk. A full-text database of over 50 core collections of primary documents acquired by the George Washington University based National Security Archive. The collection has been acquired through extensive use of FOIA. Each core collection is focused on one topic, e.g. Iran-Contra, Terrorism and U.S. Policy. Each topical collection includes diverse policy documents supplemented by contextual and reference material on chronology, glossary and bibliography.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowElectronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
- HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) This link opens in a new windowThis series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 500 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Richard Nixon in 1975.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
Google Scholar
Tips for Finding Articles
WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION
To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder (search boxes at left).
If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan.
SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD
To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s homepage under Articles & Databases. To find relevant databases, use the "Databases by Specific Subject" column.
Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.
Other Websites
- FOIA WikiThis guide should be the first stop for individuals wanting to learn more about FOIA, how to make a request, open meetings laws, and other open government topics.
- Open Government Guide (State Governments)The Open Government Guide is a complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws. Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states.
- WikileaksWikiLeaks is an international organization that publishes submissions of otherwise unavailable documents from anonymous sources and leaks with a database of more than 1.2 million documents.
- Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)EPIC is a public interest research center in Washington, D.C. It was established in 1994 to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values.
