Guides: Elections: International Elections

International Election Data

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)
Detailed data for legislative elections held around the world. Created and maintained by the Center for Political Studies at the University of Michigan.
Global Elections Database
Provides data for parliamentary elections for various countries around the world. Coverage varies, but strongest in 1990s and 2000s.
Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive
Collection of election maps and data from various countries, including some sub-national elections.
ACE Project (Administration and Cost of Elections)
European Election Database
Provides election data for many countries in Western Europe, allowing multi-country comparisions.
National Elections Across Democracy and Autocracy (NELDA)
A data set of election data in countries around the world from 1945 to 2015.

Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new window
(Coverage 1931-2015): Web-based version of the index to Keesing's Record of World Events. This is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs since 1931.
Topics cover constitution and governance, legislation, economics, politics, foreign relations, elections, legal issues, social issues, disarmament and rearmament, terrorism, human rights, war, disasters, the environment, and science and technology.

There are several organizations helping promote fair and free elections in countries around the world, including:

UN Department of Political Affairs
The DPA (Department of Political Affairs) provides electoral assistance, including UN observation and technical support, to countries holding elections.
The Electoral Integrity Project
A collaborative research project between Harvard and the University of Sydney to study elections and how to strengthen electoral integrity.
Elections and Voting Data Guide
A very detailed guide on data sources for elections outside the United States, from Princeton University.