Voting Records
Federal voting records (President, U.S. House, U.S. Senate) is available from several sources, including:
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection This link opens in a new windowPresident, U.S. House, U.S. Senate, and gubernatorial results by state and county (where available). 1789-present.
- Voting AmericaProvides cinematic & interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2008.
- Voting & Registration Data (via Current Population Survey)Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly survey of about 50,000 households.
- House of Representatives, Clerk of the House, Election StatisticsComprehensive statistics of state by state election results are kept by the House of Representatives Clerk of the House. The numbers of Senators and Representatives from each congress are listed in charts.
- U.S. Senate Virtual Reference Guide -- ElectionsProvides links to official laws governing election of Senators, history of Senate elections, and some interesting specific elections in the Senate.
State and Local voting records (e.g. governor, state representative, councilman) is usually available from either state or county boards of election. These boards are also good sources of more granular Federal election data, by ward or even by precinct.
The election authorities near to Georgetown include:
- District of Columbia Board of ElectionsIncludes voter information for the District and election results 1992-present.
- Maryland State Board of ElectionsCandidate information for state-wide offices and election results for Maryland 1986-present.
- Montgomery County Board of ElectionsMontgomery County (MD) election information. Includes results 2000-present, by precinct.
- Prince George's County ElectionsOfficial election site for Prince George's County (MD). Includes election results 1992-present.
- Virginia State Department of ElectionsVoter information for Virginia residents and state-wide results of past elections, 1995-present.
Newspapers often report (unofficial) election results on the day following an election:
- Washington Post (Historical) This link opens in a new windowComplete, full-text archive of the Washington Post, from its first issue on December 6, 1877 through 1994.
Election Maps
1860 Presidental Election Map
from Historical atlas of U.S. presidential elections 1788-2004 (LAU Ref G1201.F9H5)
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection This link opens in a new windowContains maps for presidential, gubernatorial, and House/Senate elections. Best for recent elections (1998-present) -- use the Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections for older races.
Other Election Data
- America VotesCall Number: JK1967 .A8
- American National Election Studies (ANES)Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowIn addition to current polling, contains past polls from the 1930s to the present.
- American Presidency ProjectA broad collection of the most significant documents of the presidency. Search here for public papers, State of the Union addresses, inaugural addresses, press conferences, executive orders, proclamations, signing statements, debates, convention speeches, and much more.
- Harvard Election Data ArchivePrecinct-level data for recent elections and GIS shapefiles for easy cross-referencing.
- United States Historical Election Returns SeriesContains county- and state-level data for Federal and gubernatorial offices, 1788-1990. From ICPSR.
- Voting AmericaProvides cinematic & interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2008.
Campaign Advertisements
- Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2012Visual review of television presidential commercials, 1952-2012.
