Dr Sofie Amalie Nordhoff Jung (1868-1943)

The archival materials listed here are intended as a starting point for research. They are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Lauinger Library; use the Aeon request system to request materials and to schedule a research appointment to examine them. 

Researchers are also encouraged to explore the descriptions of other records in Booth's collections through the Georgetown Archival Resources site. Use the search box or the search icon in the gray row at the top of the screen to begin exploring. Additional search words can be added to the results screen using the Filter Results box to the right. 

As with any archival research project, please note that not all material in Booth relevant to research on Dr. Nordhoff Jung is described on Georgetown Archival Resources site; Archives staff are happy to discuss research projects and to direct researchers to additional resources.

 

• Sofie Nordhoff Jung Papers, GTM-GAMMS91. 1884-1943. 0.25 lf

These papers consist of correspondence of Dr. Nordhoff-Jung, much with Georgetown University concerning donations she made. Also present is personal and business correspondence between her and prominent European doctors, including Oskar von Miller. One folder contains material relating to the professional career of her husband while he was in Europe, including government documents from Prussia and Imperial Russia.

 

• Faculty Lists in the Georgetown University Medical School Bulletins, 1923-1924 to 1936-1937

These lists can be used to document the date of Dr. NJ's first appointment to the Georgetown faculty and the subsequent changes in her academic titles.

 

• Old Archives: Georgetown University Hospital 1898-1970, GTA-000212. Box 2, folder 1

Includes letter from Georgetown University President W. Coleman Nevils, S.J., to Dr. Nordhoff Jung, 02/02/1933, stating that she was "at liberty to send to the free ward two patients any time [she] may see fit to do so."

 

• Old Archives: Founders' Day, GTA-GAMMS266. Box 1, folder 5

Includes correspondence, clippings, and photographs from Founders' Day celebrations, 1933 and 1934. Present is  material relating to her induction into the Angelo Secchi Academy of Science.

 

• Degrees, Diplomas, and Certificates, GTA-000585. 

box 1

Sophie Amelia Nordhoff Jung. Doctor of Medicine diploma, 1934. [Copy].

box 2

Sophie Amelie Nordhoff Jung, Certificate of Appreciation, 1934 [Photostatic copy]. Signed by W. Coleman Nevils, S.J.

 

• Francis A. Tondorf, S.J. Papers, GTM-GAMMS009.

Box 1, folder 5

Includes correspondence from SNJ, 1925.

Box 1, folder 6

Includes correspondence from SNJ, 1926.

 

• Georgetown College Financial Records: Vault Collection GTA 000883: Ledger I.AA.1.t, 1923 - 1950

Includes accounts for SNJ's estate.

 

• 1789 Society Collection, GTA-000138. Box 1

Undated directory of 1789 Society Members includes the name of SNJ.

 

• Medical Off-Prints GTA-000806. Box 1

Includes off-prints by Dr. Franz A. R. Jung.