1918 Spanish Flu Pandemic at Georgetown University

The Georgetown College Journal was the student newspaper at Georgetown University in 1918-1919.  The links below provide access to digitized issues.

• November 1918

  • Page 82 /page 16 of the PDF. Medical Notes: Owing to the prevalence of the Spanish influenza, the Medical School was closed for almost a month . . . 

  • Page 83/page 17 of the PDF. Law Notes: Owing to the closing of classes by the Health Commissioner, on account of the influenza, there is very little to record at the Law School . . .

  • Page 84/page 18 of the PDF. Law Notes: includes notice of the death of Joseph F. Drury, L’1918 from influenza

  • Page 98/page 32 of the PDF. Georgetown and the War:  includes notice of the death of Timothy J. Moran, Class of 1901

  • Page 101/page 25 of the PDF. Georgetown and the War: includes notice of the death of Joseph G. McDonald, L’1917

  • Page 102/page 36 of the PDF. Georgetown and the War: includes notice of the death of William F. McNierney, xClass of 1920

  • Page 107/page 41 of the PDF. Roll of Honor: includes notices of the deaths of Joseph G. McDonald, L’1917, from Spanish Influenza and of John J. A. Keady, xC’1911 and Frank T. Murray, C’1917 from pneumonia

• December 1918

  • Page 142 /page 36 of thePDF. Alumni Notes: notice of the death of Frank Joseph Murray, Class of 1917 from influenza 

• January 1919

  • Page 200/page 34 of the PDF. College Notes: includes mention of a barrier at the front gate, the need for external visitors to show a health certificate and the granting special permission to allow academic classes to continue

• April 1919

  • Page 408/page 52 of the PDF. Alumni Notes: includes notice of the death of Mabry C. Van Fleet, Class of 1921, from pneumonia following influenza

• May 1919

  • Page 463/page 47 of the PDF. Alumni Notes: includes notice of the death of Howard D. Pritchard, L’1903, from influenza and pneumonia