Your Librarian
Jennifer Boettcher
Her/She
Contact:
202 687-7495 Website Skype Contact: gu.buslib
Office Hours: by appointment and every Mon-Fri on Chat
202 687-7495
Writing Help
- Business WritingOnline and Print sources to will help you do business writing.
HoyaSearch
Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch!
Writing help
- APA Style portalProvided by Purdue University Online Writing Lab, this website will answer questions concerning using the American Psychological Association writing style and bibliography format.
- ZoteroZotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies. Note: If you are asked for a Group Code when using Write-n-Cite, ask the reference desk. Code can be sent only to Georgetown email addresses.
- Creating a bibliography in Microsoft Word"Each time that you create a new source, the source information is saved on your computer, so that you can find and use any source you have created." Use this if you did not use RefWorks.
- ZoteroBibZoteroBib is a tool from the makers of the Zotero citation manager--it's perfect for short bibliographies in lots of different citation formats
Citing Sources
You cite sources in a research paper to give credit to the authors whose work you have drawn upon and to allow readers to track down your sources, should they wish to do so.
There are many style guides for formatting citations and creating bibliographies. APA (American Psychological Association) Style is frequently used in the social sciences, but you may be asked to use others.
See the middle of this page for tools to help you format citations and bibliographies.
How to Cite Data
- How To Cite Data (MSU Library)A concise page with helpful tips on citing your data and examples from three official style guides (APA, MLA, and Chicago). Includes information about how to cite tables, datasets, and citing within text. From Michigan State University Libraries.
- Citing data sources in the social sciences: do authors do it?Working paper about the importance of Citing Social Science Data.
