Georgetown University between 1955 and 1975

Listed below are primary and secondary resources available online, including books, captions and images from online exhibitions, University and student publications, photographs, and audio resources. For advice on how best to search the resources which are accessible via DigitalGeorgetown, read the DigitalGeorgetown search tips in the University Publications section.

• Durkin, Joseph, S.J., ed.  Swift Potomac's lovely daughter : two centuries at Georgetown through students' eyes.  Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 1990. The full-text of this publication is available through DigitalGeorgetown

  This contains student essays on a variety of topics relating to student life, academic pursuits, and extracurricular activities which were written during the University’s Bicentennial celebrations. Portions of several of these essays touch on events or issues from the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s; the table of contents will provide guidance as to which ones. The publication is also available in Lauinger Library’s general collection.

• McFadden, William C., ed. Georgetown at two hundred : faculty reflections on the university's future.  Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 1990. The full-text of this publication is available through DigitalGeorgetown

  This compilation includes a number of essays with a historical perspective including: Post-Vatican II Ecclesiology: New Context for a Catholic University by Monika K. Hellwig; Georgetown and the Church's Teaching on International Relations by William V. O’Brien; Learning, Faith, Freedom, and Building a Curriculum: Two Hundred Years and Counting by Dorothy M. Brown; Philosophy at Georgetown University by John B. Brough; “Catechism at 4 for All the Schools”: Religious Instruction at Georgetown by William C. McFadden, S.J.; Science and Story at Georgetown by Joseph E. Earley; and “From Her Spires and Steeples beaming”: Mission and Image in Bricks  and Stone by Elizabeth Prelinger. The publication is also available in Lauinger Library’s general collection.

• Poulson, Susan L.  "A quiet revolution" : the transition to coeducation at Georgetown and Rutgers Colleges, 1960-1975, 1989

  In addition to a hard copy in the Library’s collection, the full text of this thesis can be accessed via Proquest’s Dissertations & Theses database. See link to that database embedded in the description under Dissertations & Theses (Georgetown-authored) (scroll down to see the Dis section of the database list to see it.)

The following online exhibitions, which were curated by University Archives staff, present and provide context for documents and photographs from the University Archives dating from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

• Georgetown in 1966

• The 1970s at Georgetown

• For the Record...200 Years of Collecting Georgetown's History

  This exhibition was created in 2016 to mark 200 years of archives at Georgetown. Use a control f search (hold down the control and the f keys at the same time and enter a a search in the box which appears in the top right) to find relevant content - search on 195 to find items dating from the 1950s, 196 for the 1960s and 197 for the 1970s.

• 225 images for 225 years of Georgetown University

  Items in this exhibition are arranged in chronological order - scroll down to see ones from the 1960s and 1970s.

• No more pencils, no more books?: Examples of threats to instructional continuity on campus and how Georgetown responded to them

  Items are arranged in chronological order - scroll down to see ones from the 1960s and 1970s.

• Community Scholars Program 50th Anniversary

  This exhibition was created in 2018 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Community Scholars Program. Items are arranged in chronological order.

• Gaston Hall: Visitors and Events

  Items are arranged in chronological order - scroll down to see ones from the 1960s and 1970s.

• Amusement in the Archives: A Sampling of Student Diversions and Extracurricular Activities at Georgetown 

  Use a control f search (hold down the control and the f keys at the same time and enter a a search in the box which appears in the top right) to find relevant content - search on 195 to find items dating from the 1950s, 196 for the 1960s and 197 for the 1970s.

   

• The Georgetown University Alumni Association produced an Alumni Magazine between 1948 and 1968. In addition to class notes and other references to former Georgetown students, this publication contains news about on-campus happenings. It has been digitized in its entirety and can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown. Use the Search within this collection box at the top of the screen to navigate to needed content. See DigitalGeorgetown search tips below. 

  DigitalGeorgetown Search tips: 

  • You can navigate to the relevant part of any item on a list of search results by clicking on the title of the item in blue, then clicking on the blue ViewOpen link at the top of the screen, then holding down the control and f keys on your keyboard at the same time, and entering  your search term in the box which appears in the top right corner

  • You can sort or limit searches or search results chronologically by using the blue Date Created facet on the right side of the screen. You'll need to scroll down to see it

  • Make use of the truncation option, e.g. use seismo* to find results for seismological, seismograph, seismographical, seismogram, seismologist,  AND seismology in one search

  • When searching for a person, if that person has an uncommon last name, start by searching on just the last name . Try variations of the name to make sure that you find all relevant articles, e.g. if you are searching for references to John Joseph James, try John James, Johnny James, John J. James, etc. And use quotation marks to search on a discrete phrase, e.g. a search on "John Joseph James" will find that exact name. A search on John Joseph James without quotation marks will look for references to John AND Joseph AND James but not necessarily together

• Student Catalogs, Prospectuses, and Related Materials

  This online collection is available via DigitalGeorgetown. Use the  blue Date Created facet on the right side of the screen to limit results to the 1950s, 1960s or 1970s. You'll need to scroll down to see it. The content of prospectuses and bulletins in this collection reflects how the University wanted to present itself to prospective students over time. 

• The Hoya, 1920-present

  The Hoya, Georgetown’s best known student newspaper, was first published in 1920. Digitized issues from 1920-1939 and 1959-1980 can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown. See DigitalGeorgetown search tips above 

• Yearbooks

  The main Georgetown University yearbook is Ye Domesday Booke, which was first produced in 1901. Digitized volumes from 1901-2011 can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown.

Almost 500 photographs from the University Archives showing alumni, students, faculty, buildings, campus or events can be browsed or searched through DigitalGeorgetown. See DigitalGeorgetown search tips above. In particular note that you can sort or limit searches or search results chronologically by using the blue Date Created facet on the right side of the screen. You'll need to scroll down to see it

A selection of audio recordings of Georgetown events and programs have been digitized and are available via DigitalGeorgetown. Around 100 recordings from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s can be played. Use the blue Date Created facet on the right side of the screen to limit or sort search results chronologically. You'll need to scroll down to see it.

The Washington Post provides surprisingly detailed coverage of happenings on campus, particularly in the late 19th and early to mid 20th centuries. It includes articles on VIP visitors, athletics, and other student activities such as plays and debates, as well as naming graduates in its annual coverage of the University’s commencement ceremony. The Georgetown University Library offers digital access to the Post’s historic archives (scroll down and select that publication from the list) which cover the period 1877 through 1994. Note that off-site access is limited to those who can authenticate via their GOCards. If you do not have a GOCard (which is the official identification card at Georgetown University), you cannot access the Post archives from off-campus.