NOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. Additional login information is available directly from the CAS as a PDF.
Like its online predecessor, SciFinder (and its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts), SciFinderⁿ is a core chemistry research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. Two new elements make SciFinderⁿ particularly valuable:
- PatentPak—helps scientists evaluate the relevance of patents by making it easy to navigate quickly to specific substances referenced in the text of a patent
- MethodsNow—enables immediate access to millions of synthetic protocols (i.e., step-by-step synthetic methods)
With its additional functionality, SciFinderⁿ provides information and data faster and more comprehensively than SciFinder did, widening the search landscape and possibly increasing research productivity and impact.
A division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the ACS Publications database provides Web access to more than 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published or co-published by the Publications Division. Includes online access to the ACS Style Guide.
Explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
This Webguide lists stock and commodity exchanges worldwide, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, as well as sources for market and stock prices and reports.
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
Annual compilation of trade statistics from over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country. The data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into U.S. dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. For many countries, the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. [N.B.: GU only has access to the "free" version of Comtrade; we are not premium subscribers.]
The most comprehensive set of reliable physical reference data available anywhere. The NIST collection of atomic energy levels, transition probabilities, and collision data is widely used by groups for characterizing and modeling all types of gaseous systems (including plasmas, planetary atmospheres, and astrophysical media) and for health physics applications.
National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) resource for physics data on the web. Includes data for atomic & molecular spectroscopy, X-ray & gamma-ray physics, condensed matter physics and nuclear physics, and various physical constants.
Values and bibliography of fundamental physical constants. in-depth information on the International System of Units (SI), and guidelines for expressing uncertainty in measurements.
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST, including IR, UV/Vis, MS spectra, and thermochemical and thermophysical properties information.
Features physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties of inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances. A major reference source for chemistry, physics, and engineering. Online (click link above) and in print, Science Reference Collection, Q 199 .N32, vols 1-7.
Of interest to all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Volumes A - D are also available in print in the Blommer Science Library.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy