Guides: Biography: Nationality, Ethnicity, Occupation, Discipline

Find Biographies by Nationality, Ethnicity, Occupation, or Discipline

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.

The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.

American Women of Science Since 1900
Includes essays on women and science in addition to biographical entries.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Politics in America, included in this collection, provides biographical information on U.S. Congress.

Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, multi-volume encyclopedia of all aspects of Jewish life, history, culture and scholarship. Each entry is signed and includes a brief bibliography.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI2) This link opens in a new window
The major scholarly encyclopedia in Islamic & Middle Eastern studies, this is a multi-volume work containing signed articles on all aspects of the Islamic world: religious, biographical, historical, and social.
Also in print at call number:
LAU Ref Arabic and Islamic Studies DS37 .E523
Short bibliographies of classical works accompany signed articles. Many articles in the new editions (EI2 & EI3) have been revised and updated. The second edition is now complete. See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how Arabic, etc. words are romanized.

The first edition, now published as E.J. Brill's First Encyclopaedia of Islam, 1913-1936, is also useful. Sister titles: Encyclopaedia of Islam Three (EI3), Encyclopaedia Islamica (in progress), Encyclopedia of the Qur'an.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Extensive articles by distinguished international scholars on important philosophers, philosophical theories and concepts. Includes Eastern, Western, ancient, medieval, and modern philosophy, as well as theories from other fields which have had an impact on philosophy. Signed articles include bibliographies.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Use "Executive Search" to find biographical information about company executives.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Limited to 8 concurrent users.
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) This link opens in a new window
The DNB is an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Excludes living persons. Has themed entries (e.g. Roman Britain) and groups of subjects with a common attribute (e.g. Archbishops of Canterbury). Contains 10,000 images. GU Law Library has the 60 print volumes.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of music worldwide, from ancient music to the popular music of today. Formerly known as Grove Music Online.
Theatre in Context This link opens in a new window
O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window
Full-text biocritical essays written and signed by noted scholars. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay, links, biographical information placing the author's work in personal and historical context, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study.
The collection spans a wide variety of time periods, geographic locations and cultures, e.g., African American writers; English Romantic Period 1798-1870; Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome; Latin American Writers; Renaissance Writers; Modern Playwrights; Bible as Literature. Included in Literature Resource Center.
Studies in Irish Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of three reference works: Dictionary of Irish Literature; Modern Irish Writers: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook; and Irish Playwrights, 1880-1995. Included are profiles of more than 1,300 novelists, playwrights, humorists, politicians, publishers, and arts organizations. Entries analyze and place in historical context major works and themes.
Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Each treatment devotes 175 to 200 pages to the critical interpretation and discussion of one author's life and works, taking into account important contributions to scholarship and criticism. Comprises nearly 600 books from three print series: United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors. Included in Literature Resource Center.