Skip to Main Content
Strategies for Finding Biographical Information
In addition to checking the standard biographical sources listed within this guide, be sure to expand your search to other types of sources:
Interviews - often published in magazines and newspapers or broadcast/filmed
Profiles or articles published in magazines or newspapers
Obituaries or death notices in newspapers or magazines
Other online sources on the Web
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find interviews, obituaries, and news articles in national and international newspapers, news sources, TV and radio broadcast transcripts, web publications, and blogs.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the U.S. paper of record. For older material, use New York Times Historical.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text archive of the NYT 1851-2007. Click on "More Options" to use the limit by document type to retrieve obituaries or articles.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of the current paper, 1977-present. Use Washington Post Historical for older articles.
Washington Post (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text archive of the Washington Post, from its first issue on December 6, 1877 through 1994.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Use this article database to search for a wide range of topics from general interest and popular magazines of the past (1890-1982), such as the Saturday Evening Post and Life. For content published after 1983, use Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy