Guides: South Asia Studies: Home

Best Bets

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Digitized and searchable issues of the Times of India, the nation's oldest English-language newspaper still in publication. Coverage is from 1838-2010.
The Times of India, with full text coverage 1838-2010, is the oldest English-language newspaper in India still in circulation and is the world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper. Begun in 1838 to serve the British residents of West India, today, the newspaper serves as a rich source of material for scholars across a variety of academic disciplines. The paper can be used to support a number of teaching curriculums from colonial studies, to history and politics, to international studies and journalism.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, census reports, film booklets, and other documents covering the 18th century to the mid-20th century, principally from the Bengal region of India.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.