Chinese Studies

References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.

Provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

Full image and full text, each week The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents a digestible collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China, all of which are explicitly targeted on a domestic – not foreign – audience. Each article is carefully translated into English, with great attention given to conveying "the sense and spirit" of the Chinese text. The Current Digest of the Chinese Press provides a comprehensive, broad-survey understanding of current events as reported by mass media in the People’s Republic of China, offering readers, regardless of Chinese language ability, a much clearer (if more complex) view of the current Chinese reality.

A comprehensive guide to study and research on Buddhism.

English Interface
Simplified Chinese Interface
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. See information icon for full database description.

Dacheng (大成老旧刊) provides full-text access to over 140,000 issues in nearly 7,000 periodicals published before 1949. The database is a rich resource to researches in modern Chinese history, literature, politics, law, sociology and economics.

TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.

读秀 is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. It searches journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and books, and yields relevant pages for reading.

The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources (mostly in translation). Paid ads are excluded.

17 English-language periodicals about China published between 1817 and 1949. The collection includes missionary periodicals, academic journals established by Western-educated Chinese scholars, and journals of early Sinology. Major topics include the development of colleges and universities in China, missionary activities, and contemporary accounts of the Taiping Rebellion, the Boxer Rebellion, and other events in China during the 19th and 20th centuries.