Hilary Turner
Jennifer C. Boettcher
Start Here (How to Use This Guide)
What you’ll accomplish (can be applied to your own startup or class negotiation activity):
(1) Find who funds/partners with companies like yours
(2) Build a target list (investors and accelerators/corporate strategics)
(3) Track your niche (news/policy/industry)
(4) Explore market-practice examples and plain-English legal framing.
Where to click: Open each resource from the Library’s A–Z Databases page (search by name), plus a few reputable free tools noted in the boxes.
AI is allowed: Use AI to brainstorm, then verify with library/open sources and cite the tool. Refer to your professor's AI Policy to become familiar with the nuances of allowed AI usage in this course.
Understanding Your Industry
The databases below are excellent resources for exploring your industry of interest:
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Interested in using generative AI tools like ChatGPT and Elicit?
Reminder: Check your syllabus or ask your professor before using generative AI tools for a class or an assignment.
 AI Tools Can be Helpful With: |
 Be More Cautious with AI Tools if You: |
|
|---|---|---|
| Writing Models | Need very recent information | |
| Suggesting Synonyms | Do not have previous knowledge of a topic | |
| Copy Editing | Are concerned about potential plagiarism or copyright violations | |
| Brainstorming | Need to perform complex mathematics | |
| Summarizing* | Are unsure if you're permitted to use AI tools in your research or writing | |
| Translation | Are concerned about the electrical energy use in running these tools |
*Be aware of the copyright restrictions of any content you upload to an AI tool.
For more information on using generative AI resources in your research, visit our Research Guide.
| AI Tools | Crafting Prompts | Citing AI Tools | Campus Policies |
