Skip to Main Content

ACCT 6582: Startup Law

Professor Andrew Ting

Objectives

Goal: Surface recent financings, amounts, stages, lead/participating investors, and any strategic (corporate) investors.

Deal & Funding Information Resources

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

- Press releases/trade coverage confirming round amounts & investors.

Factiva
Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.

- Deeper trade titles for niche industries.
  Sample starter query: industry:(biotechnology) AND ("led the round" OR "option-to-acquire").

Crunchbase (free)
Quick investor rosters; confirm details in Nexis/Factiva.

LSEG Workspace

Free registration required – see details. LSEG Workspace contains company financial reports for public US and international companies, earnings estimates, market data such as exchange rates and interest rates, news, investment analysis and more.
To access LSEG Workspace:
1. Go to https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/workspace-registration
2. Enter your GU email address.
3. Wait for a verification email to hit your inbox. This will come from “refinitiv.com” or “lseg.com" Click the link in the email to verify your address.
4. Fill out the registration form. Please select the appropriate category (Main Campus faculty/student, SCS faculty/student). If you are a faculty or student at a different campus (e.g. Law, GU-Q), please use Main Campus.
5. Click Register Now.
Wait 20-30 minutes (sometimes longer) for a second email from LSEG/Refinitiv, welcoming you to LSEG Workspace. When you get this email:
1. Click the URL in the email (or use https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/workspace-web)
2. If you get taken to a “download Workspace” page, scroll down to the bottom for Workspace Web.
3. Create a new password. Do not use your NetID password, this is a separate account.
4. LSEG should take you into Workspace.
Your LSEG Workspace account will expire after 3 days of inactivity. However, to use LSEG Workspace again, simply re-register (go back to step 1).

Public-company pipelines/filings & deal news to spot corporate VC/strategic patterns.

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2025 3:23 PM
URL: https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/ACCT6582
Print Page

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy