Literature Liaison & Reference Librarian
Melissa Jones
Contact:
Research Consultations are available in person and via Zoom. Click Schedule Appointment to reserve a time. Email me if you need an alternate time.
202-687-7595
Finding Books
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
- Interlibrary LoanUse to request materials not already available through Georgetown or the consortium. Click here for more information.
Finding Articles
General Databases: These are interdisciplinary and contain both scholarly and popular sources.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
Subject-Specific Databases: These are specific to particular academic disciplines and reflect the scholarship and interests of those disciplines.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowFull Text of all American Anthropological Association's (AAA) journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA journals, newsletters and bulletins.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- Ebsco Education This link opens in a new windowProvides users with an ability to search all of the Ebsco Education databases from one search form. Databases include: ERIC, Education Full Text, Education Source, and Educational Administration Abstracts.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowCitations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
- PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Generative AI for Research
Elicit
- What it Does: Using large language models (LLMs), Elicit finds papers relevant to your topic by searching through papers and citations and extracting and synthesizing key information.
- Underlying Data: Semantic Scholar database
- Is it Free? Free trial available. Pay for credits after trial expires.
- More Information: Elicit FAQs (older version FAQs)
See the AI Tools for Research page on the Artificial Intelligence (Generative) Resources guide for more information on additional AI tools.
