Literature Liaison & Reference Librarian
Melissa Jones
Contact:
Research Consultations are available in person and via Zoom. Click Schedule Appointment to reserve a time. Email me if you need an alternate time.
202-687-7595
Finding Books
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
Finding Articles
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Environmental Studies Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
- Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. This mixed media collection spans over 173 hours of video and 132,000 pages of digital material.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Sustainability brings together 150 journals and 5,000 research reports on the environment, energy, ecology, urban planning, infrastructure, land management, and more. The collection can be searched on its own or through the JSTOR general portal.
- ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Provides access to journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly LexisNexis Environmental and ProQuest Environment Abstracts.
Databases from Other Subjects
- ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowAtla Religion Database with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 350+ major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by American Theological Library Association, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
