Fact Checking & Bias
-
AllSides
Exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant. -
FactCheck.org
A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. -
Use LinkedIn to verify information about the author of a source. -
Media Bias / Fact Check
The most comprehensive media bias resource on the internet. Currently lists 1800+ media sources in their database. -
Politifact
A fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics. -
Snopes
Founded by David Mikkelson, a project begun in 1994 as an expression of his interest in researching urban legends that has since grown into the oldest and largest fact-checking site on the Internet, one widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and laypersons alike as one of the world’s essential resources. -
Washington Post Fact Checker
Created by The Washington Post, this site serves to “truth squad” the statements of political figures regarding issues of great importance, be they national, international or local.
Library Sources
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Paid ads are excluded.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowLimited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data. -
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
-
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearches all ProQuest newspaper databases: Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, ProQuest Civil War Era, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Newsstand, and The Wall Street Journal.
-
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Note: Access to CQ Press collections is incomplete. GU does not have access to every collection displayed on the CQ Press hub page.
The online hub for all of the CQ Press products, including CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly,CQ Political Reference Suite / Online Editions. -
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Verifying Photos
The simplest way to find further information about an image is to right-click and select Search image with Google.
If you are unable to search by right clicking on the image, the following steps provide alternative ways of running the same search to do a reverse image look up.
1. Go to images.google.com.
2. Click the camera icon in the search bar
3. Search by uploading the image file or dragging and dropping it into the search box for Google Lens (see below) or paste the URL for the photo into the search box and click search.
Note: To find the URL for an image, right click (PC) or control + click (Mac) on an image and copy the image URL by clicking Copy Image Address (Chrome, Firefox, or Safari) or Copy Image Link (Edge).
4. View results. Google Lens will then display other places where the same image has been used on the web. Pay attention for whether an image is being used out of context or to mislead readers.
5. To find the original image, click the link for Find Image Source at the top of the screen.
TinEye is an online tool for searching by image and finding where that image appears online.
Go to www.tineye.com
Upload the image or paste/enter the image URL in the search box. Click the magnifying glass icon to search.
Note: To find the URL for an image, right click (PC) or control + click (Mac) on an image and copy the image URL by clicking Copy Image Address (Chrome, Firefox, or Safari) or Copy Image Link (Edge)..
View results. Note: You can sort images by Oldest First to find the earliest instance of the image.
