Guides: Women's &amp; Gender Studies: Books & Articles

Quick Tips

Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “queer theory”)
Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar

Start Here

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focusing on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, publications here include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues. LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.

Georgetown Women, Peace and Security Resource Center
Reports and articles related to gender and conflict.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Over 100 million records for books and other materials in over 60,000 libraries. Items found in WorldCat may be requested through InterLibrary & Consortium Loan services.

Contemporary and Cultural Studies in Gender & Sexuality

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities."
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media.
Includes the full text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the areas of journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies/intercultural communication, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
A comprehensive index to communication-related publications, including literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. Also covers the international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense. From ProQuest.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

History of Gender & Sexuality

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).

Subject-Relevant Thesauruses

Finding Books in Lau

Call Number	Subject	Location
B 105.W59	Women in philosophy	1st floor
BF 76.2	Women psychologists	1st floor
BF 692 - BF 692.5	Psychology of Sex; Sexual Behavior	1st floor
BF 1045.L7; .S48	The unconscious and love; sex	1st floor
BF 1045.W65	Women and the unconscious	1st floor
BF 1099.W65	Women's dreams	1st floor
BF 1275.W65	Women and spiritualism	1st floor
BF 1571.5.G39	Queer witchcraft	1st floor
BF 1571.5.W66	Women and witchcraft	1st floor
BF 1572.B63	Body image in women and witchcraft	1st floor
BJ 1292.W6	Religious ethics and women	1st floor
BJ 1395	Feminist Ethics	1st floor
BP 188.3.W6	Devotional literature: women	1st floor
BR 317	Women of the Reformation	1st floor
BS 575	Women in the Bible	1st floor
BT 83.55	Feminist Theology	1st floor
CT 3200 - CT 3830	Biography of women (collective)	1st floor

Call Number	Subject	Location
HQ 1 - 2044	The family; Marriage; Women	4th floor
HQ 19 - HQ 76.8	Sexual behavior and attitudes; Sexualities	4th floor
HQ 77 - HQ 79.5	Trans & Gender Variant Identities	4th floor
HQ 503 - HQ 1064	The family; marriage; the home	4th floor
HQ 1088 - HQ 1090.7	Men and Masculinities	4th floor
HQ 1121 - HQ 1154	History of Women	4th floor
HQ 1180 - HQ 1190	Women's Studies; Feminist Theory	4th floor
HQ 1236	Women and the State	4th floor
HQ 1240	Women and Development	4th floor
HQ 1389	Women and Art; Gender-Based Art	4th floor
HT 51 - HT 1595	Communities; Classes; Races; Slavery	4th floor
HV 1442 - HV 3024	Social and Public Welfare	4th floor
JF 847 - JF 851	Women's Suffrage	4th floor
LC 1401 - LC 2572	Women's Education	4th floor
ML 82	Women and Music	4th floor
N 72.F45	Feminism and the Arts	4th floor
PN 98.W64	Feminist Literary Theory	4th floor
PN 1590.W64	Feminist Theater	4th floor
PS 147 - 152	Women Authors (American Literature)	5th floor
RA 777.8	Women's Health	5th floor

Women's & Gender Studies

Latin American Studies and Iberian Languages Liaison & Reference Librarian

Get Answers

Can't find it?

Quick Tips

Start Here

Contemporary and Cultural Studies in Gender & Sexuality

History of Gender & Sexuality

Subject-Relevant Thesauruses

Finding Books in Lau