Sociology

A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.

Compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys. Includes polling from the U.S. and abroad.

The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations from the 1930's to the present.

Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Contains the Census and the American Community Survey.

Contains a wide range of historical data from the earliest times to the present. Tables cover specific indicators such as employment, income, saving, poverty, construction, housing, consumer price indexes, and others.

Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)

Provides worldwide statistics on population, birth, mortality, marriage, and divorce. The web version has the latest edition and earlier years back to 1948.

Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.