Resources for Background Research
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.
Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis. -
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowNote: Georgetown only subscribes to certain titles in this collection.
Comprehensive and timely critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature. Written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited publications in the scientific literature.
Case Studies and Research Methods
-
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) has tools for every step of the research process in the social sciences, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SRM includes reference entries for hundreds of research methods, over 1,000 books providing in-depth treatments on using various methods, and cases, datasets, and short video demonstrating and applying methods in scholarship. -
SAGE Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills This link opens in a new windowThis collection of streaming video on the SAGE Research Methods platform offers support on the practical skills that you need to successfully complete your research. Key areas such as writing a research proposal, planning and designing a research project, and securing ethical approval are explicitly covered. Part of SAGE Research Methods.
-
Global Nonviolent Action DatabaseBrowse or search for cases and methods of nonviolent actions.
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
-
The Oxford Handbook of Peace History
by
ISBN: 9780197549087Publication Date: 2023-08-16The Oxford Handbook of Peace History offers a comprehensive analysis of peace history from ancient times to the present day. With contributions from an international roster of scholars, the Handbook provides researchers, students, and instructors a timely examination of the global dimensions of peace work. -
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Call Number: Online and in print: Ref. JZ 5533 .O95 2010A four-volume set, signed articles cover a wide range of topics from "Arms Control and Disarmament," "Psychology of Direct Violence," "Forgiveness," "Poverty and Conflict," to "War on Terror." Important people, organizations, and theories are also included. Key documents, terms, negotiation terms, a topical outline of entries, and references are appended. -
Encyclopedia of Transitional JusticeCall Number: Ref. K 5250 .E53 2013The encyclopedia covers methods, debates, terms, country studies, and institutions and organizations relating to ways states and groups use to deal with past human rights violations. Topics include: Amnesty, Child Soldiers, Restorative versus Retributive Justice, Victim Theories, Ethnic Cleansing, Theater of Violence, and more. Entries are written by scholars and include bibliographies.
-
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict
Call Number: Online and Ref. HM 291 .E625 2008Exstensive articles covering a wide range of topics, for example, "Anthropology of Warriors," "Biochemical Factors," and "Religious Traditions, Violence and Nonviolence." Articles include bibliographies. Three volumes. -
Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology
Call Number: JZ 5533 .E634 2012 (4th fl. Lauinger)Articles in this 3-volume set focus on the psychological aspects of such topics as genocide, hate crimes, torture, terrorism, and racism. Defines concepts, theories, and methods. -
Encyclopedia of Peace Education
by
Call Number: JZ 5534 .E48 2008 -
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: onlineEssays describe people, concepts, organizations, political and social movements, and events. Bibliographies point to further reading on such topics as Community Organizing, Just War Theory, Direct Action, Socially Responsible Investing, and Disability Studies. Browse the "Reader's Guide" in volume one which organizes articles by broad topic and by geographic area. -
Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy
Call Number: BX 1753 .E595 2007This encyclopedia is a comprehensive introduction to Catholic social thought. The work combines three levels of analysis (1) broad-ranging theoretical work on key topics and scholarly disciplines, (2) social science perspectives on a wide range of topics relating to human nature and society, and (3) treatment of policy issues. -
Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy
Supplements and updates the 2007 edition. -
Religion and Violence: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict
Call Number: Online
Catholic Social Action
-
Catholic Social ActionResearch guide prepared by the Catholic Resources Research Alliance (CRRA) to highlight digital resources at CRRA institutions and Church documents that form the basis for Catholic Social Teaching and action. Resources include materials related to Dorothy Day, Sister Helen Prejean, and others as well as topics such as nonviolence, immigrants, and solidarity.
