"Charity Navigator works to guide intelligent giving. By guiding intelligent giving, we aim to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace, in which givers and the charities they support work in tandem to overcome our nation’s and the world’s most persistent challenges." Must register for free to go deeper.
A nonprofit charity watchdog and information service, is to maximize the effectiveness of every dollar contributed to charity by providing donors with the information they need to make more informed giving decisions.
Candid's Foundation Directory Online is a tool for finding potential funding sources for scholarships and non-profit projects. It is the foremost resource for finding information on philanthropic organizations, grants received, and organizations that receive them. Also available are the organization's IRS 990: Financial statements in the non-profit world. To learn how to use the databases use their YouTube tutorials or contact the Library.
Covers information on domestic and international philanthropy and the nonprofit sector by identifying, indexing, and abstracting relevant books, articles, and non-print resources. From the Foundation Center.
Includes topics such as fundraising, proposal development, and revenue-generating activities. Also includes works related to charitable giving, including project reports, studies, and statistical analyses. Literature on all aspects of company-sponsored foundations and corporate giving is included, as are materials related to the nonprofit sector, its composition, administration, management, and voluntarism. Also covers publications that discuss the impact of government policies and funding upon the sector and the legal and tax implications of local, state, and federal regulation and legislation.
Provides several services to the Research and Development community. The Funding Opportunities database contains more than 22,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities. The Funded Research enables members to research and track information on funding and award histories at leading research facilities around the world. Access and support provided through the Office of Sponsored Programs.
A searchable database of more than 620,000 nonprofit organizations in the United States. You will have to register to verify a nonprofit's legitimacy, learn whether a contribution will be tax deductible, or view a nonprofit's recent Forms 990.
The IMLS advances, supports, and empowers America's museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development.
An independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of our communities by providing all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation. Provides grants for organizations and individuals in the arts.
An independent federal agency that supports and promotes excellence in the humanities. Provides grants for cultural institutions and individual scholars.
The grant-making affiliate of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Provides grants to promote the preservation and use of America's documentary heritage.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy