Native American Resources in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections
This guide provides a description and list of materials in the Booth Family Center comprised of grammars, vocabularies, cultural observations, photographs, and other items descriptive of historical Native American societies.
Explore five centuries (c.1420-1920) of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
Composed of five chronological Series spanning from 1684 to 1912, the AAS Historical Periodicals Collection is one of the premier digital libraries documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century. The scope of the collection is vast with over 6,500 full-text titles, featuring over 10 million pages of digitized content representing more than two dozen languages. Subject areas covered range from Religion and Philosophy; to Civil War and Slavery; to Art, Science, and Medicine; to Family and Society, ensuring that researchers from a wide range of disciplines are likely to find immense value in this collection.
This has been added to the Library's collections through an anonymous donation for the benefit of the Georgetown University Library, in honor of University Librarian Emeritus Artemis G. Kirk, for its collections to enable Georgetown to become a global leader in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies.
Digitized materials from the A.J. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, covering American Indians and their involvement in territorial disputes, U.S. Government relations, missionary activity, education, colonialism, and more.
Newspapers produced by and for American Indians, with over 9,000 issues spanning 1828 to 2016. Titles include the Navajo Times, the Cherokee Phoenix, the Catholic Sioux Herald, and more. From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
This is digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets and 3,800 monographs held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Topics include Brazilian and Portuguese history, literature, and politics, but nearly all topics and time periods beginning with the colonial era are represented.
The collection is divided into two sections:
Part I: Pamphlets brings together over 80,000 pages of pamphlets from 1800 to the late twentieth century.
Part II: Monographs features approximately one million pages of primary sources on Brazilian history from colony to republic, as well as the political and economic dimensions of Brazil and the Portuguese empire.
Spanning from 1606-1822, the Colonial America collection provides access to a unique collection of manuscript and printed material detailing civil and cultural society in early America. Sourced from over 1,450 volumes of the Colonial Office files held at the National Archives, UK, the collection contains the original correspondence between London and the American colonial governments.
This collection represents thousands of papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, and that relate to the governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian and West Indian colonies of England. Colonial State Papers also includes the Calendar of State Papers Colonial – an advanced bibliographic search tool providing over 40,000 records of bibliographic description for documents from many collections, including those of CO 1. Calendar of State Papers Colonial consists of bibliographic entries along with transcriptions, extracts and abstracts, in fully keyed XML.
Based on the Evans American Bibliography, this collection contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States or in the British American colonies from 1639 through 1800. It provides a foundation for research in early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, politics and nearly every aspect of life in early America.
When completed, the digital collection will include every item previously published in microform by Readex, plus more than 1,200 additional works located, catalogued and digitized since the microform effort was completed -- more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the 19th century. In addition to books, pamphlets and broadsides, this collection features many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state aand government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions.
Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. Collections include: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969. Section II: Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire. Section III: The Visible Empire. Section IV: Religion & Empire. Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, 1607-2007.
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered. from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
Documents relating to the European settlement of Africa, North America, Central America, Australia, and New Zealand, including maps, exploration diaries, diplomatic correspondence, and business records.
Accounts of American Protestant missionary activities, principally from 1800 to 1900, among Native Americans, African-American, and several foreign countries. The collection includes memoirs, sermons, organizational reports, and biographies. Part of Archives Unbound.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business.
The Center for Native American and Indigenous Research (CNAIR) at the American Philosophical Society (APS) Library & Museum works with Indigenous communities throughout the Americas and with campus- and community-based scholars in many disciplines and traditions. Its goal is to assist people in finding and utilizing the extensive archival collections at the Library and Museum of the APS in innovative ways that honor Indigenous knowledge, cultivate scholarship, and strengthen languages and cultural traditions.
The APS Library & Museum contains over 1,900 linear feet of unique manuscripts, photographs, and audio recordings relating to over 650 different Indigenous cultures of the Americas.
A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
Nineteenth and early 20th–century written notes on spoken Native American languages are valuable in the effort to sustain and revive these languages after a long history of suppression and loss. Many of the notes have been transcribed by Smithsonian online volunteers through our Transcription Center and are now available for researchers. There is also movement to revive sign language that allowed tribes to communicate across hundreds of spoken languages. To sample recorded music from a wide range of Native American cultures past and present, visit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
The Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC) holds the world’s most comprehensive collection of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations newspapers, periodicals, and other publications. Additionally, the SNRC is home to manuscript and special collections, maps, posters, photographs, and audio-visual recordings and is the official repository for the American Indian Library Association correspondence, the National Trail of Tears Association, and the Native American Journalists Association.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy