SFS & Government Librarian
Middle East Studies Librarian
Refugees
- Country of Origin ResearchExtensive research collected by the Canadian government on human rights abuses in many countries. The Responses to Information Requests (RIRs) database is a compilation of responses to requests for information submitted to the Research Directorate in the course of the refugee protection determination process.
- European Country of Origin Information NetworkThis site compiles and provides access to recent country information specifically geared to asylum claims. Select a country and browse the documents or add additional search terms to narrow your results.
Asylum and Asylum Law
- Amnesty International Annual ReportIn addition to the annual report, AI produces other country or topic specific reports. The digital library search function is useful. The AI USA office web site is well organized and also offers easy access to older annual reports. The easiest way is to select a country and then look for links to previous years reports.
- European Country of Origin Information Network - ECOIThis site compiles and provides access to recent country information specifically geared to asylum claims. Select a country and browse the documents or add additional search terms to narrow your results.
- Refugee and Asylum ResourcesLinks to many Internet sites and includes a good list of available country condition reports.
- Title 8 of the United States CodeThese sections, relating to citizenship, were affected by the Nationality Act of 1940, former section 501 et seq. of this title. That act was passed on Oct. 14, 1940, to consolidate and restate the laws of the United States regarding citizenship, naturalization, and expatriation
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)Much of the information on this web site has migrated to Refworld, but there are still some useful sources such as maps or research and evaluation. The advanced search function is a useful tool to search across multiple segments of the web site to access UNHCR documents, news stories, press releases, and other relevant material.
Oral History Collections
- Analyzing Oral Histories
The modules in World History Commons' Methods series present case studies that demonstrate how scholars interpret different kinds of historical evidence in world history and can serve as a helpful introduction to students who are new to working with these sources. - Palestinian Oral History ArchiveThe Palestinian Oral History Archive is a project to digitize, index, catalog, preserve, and provide access (through a searchable digital platform) to an archival collection of around 1,000 hours of testimonies with first generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon. POHA documents the life stories of Palestinians residing in refugee camps and different communities in Lebanon. The Archive's main focus is personal accounts surrounding the Nakba, a defining moment in Palestinian history and collective experience. Furthermore, the collection contains life narratives of the pre-Nakba period in pre-1948 Palestine, folktales and songs, as well as stories of the women in Ein el-Helwe camp after its destruction in 1982.
- Houshamadyan: A Project to Reconstruct Ottoman Armenian Town and Village Life (Houshamadyan)Houshamadyan is non-profitmaking association that was founded in Berlin, Germany, in 2010. It has a basic mission: to reconstruct and preserve the memory of Armenian life in the Ottoman Empire through research.
- Oral History Project on Religion and Resettlement (Princeton)The Oral History Project on Religion and Resettlement is a growing archive of oral history interviews with refugees, former refugees, and asylees in the United States whose religious and spiritual lives have been consequential to their journey, resettlement, and integration. They seek to gather and share oral histories from refugees, and are committed to collecting stories from, and involving, the full range of religious communities.
- Mapping of initiatives addressing the past in LebanonIncludes several oral history projects
- Refugee Cultural Heritage Digital Archive (AUB)The Refugee Cultural Heritage digital archive captures homeland memories and creates permanent records of intangible cultural heritage of refugees mainly residing in refugee camps in Lebanon. The content of this archive has been researched and collected by residents of the camps which constitutes a key element of this archive.
