Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to the Libraries!

This is a guide designed to help students in the fall 2021 semester understand what's available to them at the libraries!

Lau by Floor

Third Floor Map

You enter and exit the library on the third floor!

What's on the Third Floor?

The Circulation and Reserve Desk

Interlibrary Loan

The Millennium Room 

Consultation Room (307A)

The Reference Desk (Help available in person beginning August 16, and through chat)

Lauinger Library Reference Stacks

Pierce Reading Room

Lauinger First Floor floor plan (Large)

What's on the First Floor?

Gelardin New Media Center (By appointment)

The Maker Hub (Opening fall 2021)

The Idea Lab (Opening fall 2021)

The Dubin Classroom

Graduate Study Lounge

Lauinger Library Stacks call numbers A-DD, Government Documents, Arabic & Islamic Studies Reference, and Chinese, Japanese, Korean Reference

Second Floor

What's on the Second Floor? 

 Lauinger Library Stacks call numbers DE-F, the DVD collection, and all Quartos, Folios, and Flat Folios

The Writing Center (Opening Fall 2021)

The Midnight Mug coffee shop (Opening Fall 2021) and vending machines 

Three graduate/faculty group study rooms

Four group study rooms

Five individual short-term study rooms

Five graduate short-term study rooms (Unavailable at this time)

Ten Small Group Study Rooms (Available on a first come/first served basis, not reservable)

What's on the Fourth Floor?

Two group study rooms

Five individual short-term graduate study rooms 

Graduate Study Lounge

Lauinger Library Stacks call numbers G–PN

Note: All 4th floor study spaces are reserved for graduate students only during summer 2021.

 

Lauinger Fifth Floor floor plan (Large)

What's on the Fifth Floor?

The Booth Family Center for Special Collections (By appointment)

The Murray Room

Lauinger Library Stacks call numbers PQ–ZA 

Lower Level map

What's on the lower level?

The Woodstock Theological Library 

Current and bound periodicals

Microfilm/microfiche cabinets and microfilm reader

Maker Hub

Located on the 1st floor of Lauinger Library, the Maker Hub provides access to specialized tools, like 3D printers, laser cutters, and fabrication supplies.

Gelardin New Media Center

The Gelardin New Media Center is Georgetown University’s main resource for turning ideas and research into engaging media for any audience. All equipment and media resources are free to use for Georgetown students, staff, and faculty

Booth Family Center for Special Collections

The Paul F. Betz Reading Room in the Booth Center is currently open to researchers by appointment only.

The Booth Family Center for Special Collections, on the fifth floor of Lauinger Library, houses the Georgetown University Archives, the University Art Collection, rare book collections and manuscripts.

Browse our collections online: visit our current and past exhibitions, read our blog posts, and page through our Descriptive Catalog. View a sampling of digitized special collections in DigitalGeorgetown.

Looking for something specific? Visit our Search page.

The archivists, curators and librarians in Booth can respond to your questions about our collections via Chat (click the Chat icon in the right sidebar) and email. Schedule in-depth research consultations via Zoom by submitting this information request.

If you are in Lauinger Library, visit our current exhibitions on the third and fifth floors.

Bioethics Research Library

The Bioethics Research Library is a destination library for bioethics scholars worldwide and an exceptional resource for the entire Georgetown community. The Library is home to the world’s largest and most diverse collection of materials on the ethics of health, the environment, and emerging technologies.

  • Our library's books can be found in HoyaSearch (you'll see "Bioethics Research Library" as the location). They can be requested online through HoyaSearch, for delivery to and pick up at Lauinger Library
  • We offer virtual research assistance and one on one reference consultations; please submit this form or contact us at bioethics@georgetown.edu.

If you are interested in the bioethics minor, please reach out with any questions!

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy